bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
07 May 2007

Soaking up the sun
I guess someone heard me when I was kvetching earlier about the lack of warmth and sun!! Boy, did we hit the lottery today!!

It is clear and sunny and gorgeous, and my home weather station is reading 78�, although WeatherBug disagrees and says it's just 62�. I know it's warmer than that; it's almost downright HOT out there.

My friend C called me this morning for the purpose of getting together, although we ended up chatting on the phone for an hour before we got around to making plans. She was up for just about anything, and my only requirement was that we went outside!

So I ran through the Wendy's drive-thru and grabbed lunch for Grace and me, and we met C down at the park on the water. The park was packed, which was not terribly surprising. It seems as though most kids here are home-schooled, so there were quite a few kids who, if you didn't know better, you'd think were playing hooky. C and I sat at one of the picnic tables and just chatted away while Grace played.

Then we went for a walk down on the beach. The tide was out extremely far in the inlet, so we could really walk a ways. Grace lost her balance once and cut herself a bit on the barnacles, but as I was trying to assess the damage, she fell onto her other leg and totally cut it up.

I'm such a bad mom.

At that point, C and I decided to walk through town instead of along the water. I couldn't get over what a lovely day it was!! I was totally soaking up the sun, underneath my sunscreen, that is. We went into a farm & feed store that I'd always wanted to go in, but just had never gotten around to doing. They had the cutest dogs for sale!! They were all AKC registered puppies, and they were adorable. Grace really loved the chows, which were my favorite as well.

But we don't need another dog. One is MORE than enough for me, thank you very much.

I definitely think we'll sleep well tonight after all the sun we've gotten!! HEAVENLY!!!

But I still haven't gotten to sit in my Adirondack chairs!!!




previous * next