bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
06 May 2007

A woman without a man....
Holy craptastic, Batman! I'm tired!!!

I think it's the weather. It's almost the second week of May! Give me some sun!! It's been gloomy and dreary for over a week. My rhododendrons are blooming, but there hasn't been enough sun to take a good photo of them.

Maybe I'll just show up on Blue Opal's doorstep and indulge in some good Tucson sun.

At least it's warm. It's nearly 60°, so I can't complain too much. The only thing worse than gloomy and dreary is rainy and gloomy and dreary.

Dammit, I want to try out my Adirondack chairs!!!

WeatherBug is telling me that it's supposed to be 65° and mostly sunny tomorrow in the afternoon. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. If so, then it'll be the perfect day to sit out in the side yard in my Adirondack chairs with a tall glass of iced tea!

Speaking of iced tea, I bought some Tetley Rooibos (aka red tea) at the commissary the last time I went. It's vanilla & pear flavor. I boil up two cups of water and brew one tea bag for at least five minutes. Then I fill up one of my 20oz plastic cups from Walmart with ice, add a packet of Splenda, and pour the hot tea over the ice. Presto! Instant iced tea, and boy, is it good. Plus it has no caffeine, so I can drink it whenever I want to without getting wired.

Two cups of coffee per day is plenty, thank you very much.

Anyhoooo, the Navy is really working my husband's tail off. Can you tell??

See how hard they're working my poor husband???

That poor, poor man.

Today was Wog Day on Kurt's ship!!! For those of you not in the know, which is just about every single one of my readers, Wog Day commemorates the transformation of Wogs into Shellbacks. A Shellback is someone who has crossed the equator, and Wogs are people who haven't. It's a wee bit of hazing, nothing like what they did to my dad back in the 1970s, but it's still pretty funny. I think they still make you crawl around the ship with your undies on the outside of your clothes (and on backwards, nonetheless), but I don't think they make you crawl through garbage like they did with my dad. I know they spray you with seawater coming out of fire hoses.

But Kurt is special. He's a Golden Shellback, which means he crossed the equator at the International Date Line!

We should get his certificate mounted on wood. If it's still in decent condition..... which is unlikely.

OH!! I almost forgot. Today I went to Target, and on the way home I saw a license plate holder that made me laugh out loud.

"A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle"!!!

Now THAT is funny!!!




previous * next