bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
04 May 2007

May downpours bring June flowers
I went to the bakery for lunch yesterday, seeing as I have a standing Thursday afternoon date with my daughter. My new friend T, who works there, says to me, "Oh, yeah! I need you to sign the card for Steve!"

Card?? What card??? Is he sick, or did he win the lottery, or what?

"No, no," she assured me. "Steve left."

Left?? He left without saying goodbye???

See, Steve is my bakery "boyfriend." And he didn't even give me a slight hint as to his change of plans! Nice boyfriend he is, wouldn't you say???

Oh well.

I consoled myself with cake. There was another 99�-a-slice sale, so I tried something new!!!!

Yummy yummy cake!

It's white cake swirled with raspberry filling, covered with chocolate ganache and topped with a wee bit of chocolate frosting. I must say, this piece of cake was much yummier than the previous offering. I think the other one was just a bit TOO much chocolate.

I can see Chocolate Chaos going into convulsions over there. "Too much chocolate??? No such thing!"

Hee hee.

Anyhow, this piece of cake wasn't quite as sweet as the other one, so it was much more up my alley. I devoured it once I put Grace down for a nap. Aren't I a mean mommy???

The weather here cannot make up its mind. Seattle has it all backwards. We didn't get "April showers bring May flowers." We're working on "May downpours brings June flowers." Hopefully, anyhow.

It doesn't rain all that hard here in Seattle. You can always tell the natives from the tourists. We natives (I've lived here long enough to be an honorary native) don't bother with umbrellas. We either walk briskly from the car to our destination, or we simply raise the hood on our jackets and mosey along. You don't need an umbrella for mist, which is most of what we get.

Yesterday after Cabin Fever, I was driving down the street and marveling at what a gorgeous day it was. I even managed to pull over and snap this shot:

Such a gorgeous day today!!!!!!

Then not more than thirty minutes later, as we ate at the bakery, it began to pour. Then it began to hail. BIG ol' pellets of hail. It hailed for about ten minutes, and the rain began to slack off. As we drove home, this is what it looked like:

But it didn't last long!

Today it's been the same way. When I left to go to art class, the skies were a deep blue and the clouds were white and puffy. But coming home from town, it clouded over and began to pour.

I still haven't managed to get out to the side yard and try out my new Adirondack chairs. Hmph.

PS -- Kurt's new homecoming date is 8 June! Now I have to go change the ticker... AGAIN!




previous * next