bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
01 May 2007

Mayday mayday
Happy May Day!!!

Since it is now May, I have made a momentous decision. I shall only wear jeans from here on out if it is unduly cold (ie, less than 50�) or if all my capris and/or crop pants are in the wash.

Instead I shall wear crops!!!

This presents a small problem in that I shall have to make sure my legs are presentably shaved from now on, but that is a small price to pay to have it feel like spring!

It won't get really warm here till at least late June. Sure, we'll have the odd 80�+ day, but mostly it'll be just in the 60s, occasionally 70�, until June. Possibly even July.

We have to wear jackets during the Fourth of July celebrations. Case in point:

The fireworks display starts!!

That was last year's celebration. Kurt's not wearing a jacket because he only will wear a coat if it's snowing. Or if he is on the pier at o'dark thirty to be to work on time. It's always colder right there on the water.

My sister Michele came to visit me in June of 2003, when we first moved here. I told her it was going to be cold (she's ALWAYS cold), so I suggested she bring only long-sleeved shirts, along with sweaters and sweatshirts. She thought I was exaggerating since it was already hot in the South, and hence she nearly froze to death in her cute little summer shirts.

I've also bought Gracie some cute little summer crops. They're already going on clearance at Macy's and Penney's! That's one thing I like about the slow season changes here in Washington -- the clothes go on clearance just before it's warm enough (or cool enough come fall) to wear them!

Today I made a huge mistake. Yes, yes I did. I went to the commissary today.

Today is pay day. Not only is it pay day, but it is also Tuesday. That commissary is closed on Mondays, so Tuesdays are always busy. Compound that with it being pay day, and it was very busy in there today.

I got caught behind a woman who couldn't decide which scent of air freshener to buy for her bathroom. Most of the time I wouldn't really mind, but I'm tired and grumpy and I wanted to get home. I asked her a couple of times, "Excuse me," but I don't think she heard me. So instead I started chewing on Grace.

That's the benefit to having a kid. You always have someone to play with when you're bored!

Finally I was able to continue on my shopping, and I flew by the air-freshener lady so I wouldn't get stuck behind her again. I only really needed a few things, even though I haven't been grocery shopping in almost a month.

Once I was finished, it was time to brave the line. I always giggle at civilians who complain that they've been waiting in line at Albertson's for five whole minutes!!! Gasp!!!!

The line today, since it was a Tuesday pay day, stretched pretty much the entire width of the store and curved back on itself slightly. The commissaries only have one line; you choose your cashier when you get to the head of the line.

Fortunately today's line was moving very rapidly, so I was only in line about fifteen minutes. Again I chewed on Grace and otherwise amused her. How can you not? It's just so much fun!!

So now my fridge is full, and I even remembered to buy brownie mix! I might just have to treat myself tonight.




previous * next