bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
30 April 2007

Off for a long long walk
How the hell am I so busy all the damn time??

This weekend flew by, what with all the plans that were made at the last minute. J had already invited me out with her today, so I knew some of today would be busy.

We were busy all day.

It was really nice, don't get me wrong! But I need a day or two to recover!!

J had called me over the weekend and informed us we were going to walk this trail in town. I said sure because I had told her several times before that if she needed a walking companion, I would do so. It wouldn't hurt me to get off my lazy butt every so often.

First we had to go in to where she gets her casts put on. Last week she thought she was bleeding at the incision because she could feel stuff dripping. Fortunately it was just sweat, not blood, but the doctor cut a square out of her cast to check it out. Then they wrapped it back up with brown stretchy sticky gauze, and it looked bad. Plus the gauze didn't stick to the cast all that well. Today she had another layer of plaster put on. She has a purple cast -- very pretty! Then in three weeks she gets the shorter cast, only from her palm to just before her elbow. She's so excited. Right now her cast goes over her elbow, and she can't scratch her own nose! Poor lady.

While she was getting her new layer of plaster, she asked the guy wrapping her up where the trailhead was. The last time I tried to walk this trail with another friend, I couldn't find the trailhead. It tells you where to park but not where to start on the trail. It's very confusing.

Fortunately we could pick up the trail right at the medical building! So we moved the car to the trailhead and grabbed the stroller. I knew Grace couldn't move as fast as J wanted to go, and Grace was extremely cooperative in staying in her stroller. I was very surprised!

A path through the woods

We ended up walking for an hour and a half. Oooof! J is also six feet tall, so I was walking much faster than I normally do just to keep up with her.

The weather was perfect, though. J wanted more sun, but I'm glad it was fairly cloudy. It kept the heat down, and the cool breeze coming by really kept me cool. It was probably just 60�, but I was perfectly comfortable in capris and a short-sleeved shirt.

I did fine right up till the very last tenth of a mile. That was nearly straight up on gravel with Grace in her stroller. By the time I got to the top, I was completely winded and my heart was pounding. If I hadn't had to push the stroller over gravel, I would have been fine.

Pretty barn!

We realized on the way back that we sort of went the wrong way. Not completely, as there is really no wrong way to go. But we wanted to be on the other side of this barn. The next time we go, we'll go a different way.

And now that I am home, I am going to go vegetate in front of the tv for a while until it's time to make dinner. I know tomorrow I'll be sore. It was worth it, though.




previous * next