bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 April 2007

Chocolate cake to die for
Yesterday I went to the bakery for lunch. And I went today too, but that's neither here nor there.

I've gotten to be such a regular that when I walk in, I hear a chorus of "Hi, Karyl!!!" It makes one feel quite loved. And that's why they do it!

I've even taught two of them how to spell my name properly!

While Grace and I were eating our lunch yesterday (turkey, ranch, and bacon on a wheat kaiser roll with lettuce and tomato, bean & ham soup for me and chips for Grace), the owner came over to me and set down a piece of marionberry pie.

(No, not Marion Barry. That's the crackhead ex-mayor of DC, who was re-elected after serving prison time for being a crackhead. And then DC wonders why they don't have home rule....)

Marionberries are an Oregon blackberry, and they're quite good. Marionberry pie is excellent.

So the owner sets down this piece of marionberry pie in front of me, saying that they were giving away free pieces of pie, but she had to find something that didn't have nuts in it.

I looked around and didn't see anyone else with a free piece of marionberry pie. Score!!!

This pie was to die for. The bakery makes them from scratch, and you can even buy them as long as you give a $5 deposit for the pyrex pie dish. Lots of people will buy them and then pass them off as their own. I would!

But then people know I don't bake, so it wouldn't work.

Finally as we were leaving, I was chatting with my "boyfriend" when I looked down and saw a piece of cake on sale for 99�. My mouth immediately started to water.

It was a slice of chocolate bomb cake.

Moist chocolate cake with a dark chocolate ganache between the layers, iced over with chocolate icing and covered with chocolate shavings.

Wanna see??

YUMMY!!!!

Now isn't that to DIE for??

They made me buy it!! They twisted my arm and wouldn't let me leave till I bought it!!

Well, that's my story and I'm sticking to it.

And I ate the cake all by myself, late at night, accompanied by an ice-cold glass of milk. It doesn't look all that pretty from being bashed around in a bag from the bakery all the way home. But it tasted DIVINE.

YUMMY! Chocolate Chaos would highly approve, I am sure.




previous * next