bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
17 April 2007

Playing around with my new baby
I still don't recognize any of the names of the victims at Virginia Tech. That's good for me, but I just can't stop thinking about all these mothers and fathers who believed their son or daughter was safe away at college. Yes, being alive is a dangerous thing. You can get hit by a car or come down with some mysterious illness. But being gunned down by a discontented young man??

My heart aches for those parents.

I am going to quote Kurt here:

The news is annoying today because of the shooting, they actually compared this to Sept 11th. OMG can you even do that? [The commentator] said the last time this nation had to come together like this was 9-11 (I know, it pissed me off the way he said it), Columbine maybe but not Sept 11th. And they can't say "the gunman" anymore; he's "the Asian gunman." They talked to a few people that knew him and wanted to know why he didn't have more "international" friends. They took a count of all the international students, said it was higher than normal for a college, so he should have not been alone so far away from his native country... dumb! They brought in an expert and he explained that some people are just loners. Thanks jackass... now go back to your desk and don't talk anymore. I had to stop watching it. I didn't want to punch someone. So what are going to do with your white friends today, are you going to talk to your Korean friend? I'm surprised the news hasn't recommended a lock-down of all Asian students or at least interviewed them and asking them if they felt like they wanted to shoot some one. Well, interview me! I have a list of people that need to be hit with a coat hanger!

This is why I haven't watched any of the coverage. I'll check CNN.com every so often to see if there is any new information, but otherwise, I stay away from the televised broadcasts. I would just get as pissed off as Kurt.

And Lil Miss Kewl brings up a good point in my comments from yesterday, that ABC had put together this heart-wrenching video montage of the shootings and the victims and etc. Now I'm all for honoring our lost people, but I think it's too much too soon. These heart-wrenching images, to me, just serve to desensitize us. We see so many of them that they just stop affecting us.

Anyhoo.


So I have been playing with my new baby since I got it yesterday! Wanna see how pretty it is???

My NEW baby!!!

Now that is a lovely hunk of electronics, if ever I've seen one!

It takes some great photos too. I'm still learning to see what it can do without the flash. I keep it in the P mode, as opposed to Auto, which means that I have to remember to activate the flash when I think I need it. It's not a big deal; I actually prefer not to use the flash as much as possible. But I am still learning when I need it and when I don't.

Grace was getting sick of my taking photos of her, until she grabbed hold of my Kodak and starting playing with it. Then she was more than willing to let me take photos of her!

Grace, the next big name in photography

I also have to get used to putting it to my eye instead of looking at the LCD screen to frame my photo. I've been using digital point-and-shoots for so long that I've gotten out of practice! The only minor downside is that I almost always wear makeup when I leave the house, so my makeup rubs off on the back of the camera. Hee hee!!

And here is a slightly artistic photo for your enjoyment:

Yet another shot of my camellias

I'd taken this after dinner last night, so the light wasn't great. I love my camellias; they cover my kitchen window, so green leaves and beautiful blooms are all I see as I'm doing the washing-up. I'm not too keen on washing dishes, but at least I have something pretty to look at!

Happy Tax Day!!!




previous * next