bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
16 April 2007

Feeling much better today
Call me a sap, but I'm really upset about the Virginia Tech shooting.

I woke up this morning about 8:45am (I'm getting there!), and as I opened up Firefox to see what was going on the world, I saw the breaking news on CNN.com immediately.

Scary stuff, man. My brother might know people who were hurt; my father may have friends whose sons or daughters were hurt. At my high school, most kids go to Tech, UVA, or William and Mary.

I just don't understand why people would want to hurt innocent people! It's like the sniper shootings in DC a few years back, the school shootings at Columbine... All those people snatched from us just because someone decides to play God.

It just makes me want to cry.

*sigh*

In happier news, I am now the proud owner of a Nikon D40 digital SLR camera. I went to the Navy Exchange today and bought it. I had decided on the Sony Alpha-100, but then my dad talked me out of it. He didn't want me to get stuck in the Sony line because they can be proprietary. And since he's pretty much a professional photographer, I really value his opinion.

I'm so stoked. I have also invested in an external flash, but that I'm getting online so I'll have to wait till it's delivered. But at the moment, I'm waiting for the battery to charge so I can play with my new DSLR.

YAY!

I really think I will get a ton of use out of this camera. I have been taking and uploading so many photos lately, it's crazy. I'm sure my Flickr contacts are sick of all the photos I've been uploading... but oh well.

When I get to Rhode Island, I'm taking a photography class too. I need to get back in the classroom. I can feel my brain atrophying as we speak. ;o)

Oh, and yesterday when I was feeling all weak and dizzy? I guess I just needed to eat because once I did, I felt fine. I'd lost my motivation by then to mop the floor, so that will wait for another day. Hee hee.

Thanks for all your well-wishes, though!

PS -- HA HA!! I was about to kvetch about the word "receipts" being spelled wrong on the Dogpile search engine website, but they fixed it!!! I am such a nerd, it was bugging the crap out of me! They'd had "reciepts" for DAYS. Morons.




previous * next