bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
14 April 2007

Demon child
Oh dear Lord.

Make it stop......... please.......

My poor friend J, who broke her wrist in August, had to have surgery again this week to clean out her joint. It was supposed to have been one of those really minor surgeries where they make one tiny incision for the mini camera and another for the instruments they use. Once they cleared all the cartilage away that had to be removed, the doctors saw that J had torn a tendon. This meant she got a real incision and a soft cast from her palm to her upper arm.

Poor J.

Her mother and best friend came over to take care of her on Thursday. Yesterday was my day. It was fun, though! She was up and moving around, feeling pretty good as she's taking Vicodin for the pain. She had even managed to get dressed on her own! All I had to do for her was wash and style her hair, which was pretty amusing. God did not give me the ability to style hair. I am miserable at it, which is why I keep my hair permed. If I don't, then I just let my hair hang flat. That's the extent of my hair styling abilities.

I ended up spending all day with her because last night was our neighbor's daughter's dance recital as well. So I went to J's house at 1pm and didn't get home again till after 9pm. I'd told her last night that if her husband didn't want to take her grocery shopping that I would take her today. She can't drive, what with being on the Vicodin and all.

This morning she called me at 10:30am and asked me to help her out again today. I was more than willing to do so. Like I'm going to say no to shopping!!

We went to Penney's so she could get some shirts that fit over her cast, and I managed to find two pairs of slacks that fit me without hemming and look awesome on me. Thank God that I am finally small enough to fit into a 16P. I didn't realize I didn't have any slacks until I tried to find a pair last night for the dance recital. Our neighbor had told us not to bother dressing up, but I couldn't stomach wearing jeans to a recital. It's just not in me. I ended up wearing a denim skirt because apparently I have no slacks!

Now I have two pairs -- one brown, one black.

I got a bunch of other stuff and managed to save a bunch of money too. Penney's was having some doorbuster sale, and then I spent enough money to qualify for a $20 discount. Score!!! The cool part was I actually bought more for myself than I bought for Grace. That rarely happens.

The problem is Grace has overnight morphed into this whiny, grumpy, tantrum-throwing child. I don't know if it's because she's had two big days in a row or what. I sure hope that is what's wrong because if this is what Grace is going to be like from here on out, I swear she's not going to make it to kindergarten!

We walked into Penney's, and she laid down in the middle of the aisle and wouldn't move. Trying to get her to walk made her scream. This isn't what she's normally like! I guess I would have been more prepared if she was like this more often.

Grace is a very independent child, but it's fairly easy to convince her that she wants to go where I want to go. It just takes some creative conversation, which I have figured out by now.

That's why I am so shocked by her behavior today. It's almost like she's possessed by demons.

Fortunately J definitely doesn't need my help tomorrow. She's going to her nephew's birthday party on the other side, and her friend really wanted to go, so she'll be driving.

Tomorrow we will just sit home and chill. And Grace is DEFINITELY getting a nap. She has absolutely no choice.

Hopefully this was just a fluke today. I've got my fingers crossed...




previous * next