bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
06 April 2007

A literature nerd... DUH
Yes, folks, I am a nerd. And here's proof!!

A wee bit too obvious to be THAT funny...... but amusing nonetheless.

What Be Your Nerd Type?
Your Result: Literature Nerd
 

Does sitting by a nice cozy fire, with a cup of hot tea/chocolate, and a book you can read for hours even when your eyes grow red and dry and you look sort of scary sitting there with your insomniac appearance? Then you fit this category perfectly! You love the power of the written word and it's eloquence; and you may like to read/write poetry or novels. You contribute to the smart people of today's society, however you can probably be overly-critical of works. It's okay. I understand.

Social Nerd
 
Drama Nerd
 
Musician
 
Science/Math Nerd
 
Gamer/Computer Nerd
 
Anime Nerd
 
Artistic Nerd
 
What Be Your Nerd Type?
Quizzes for MySpace

Especially since I noticed that it should be "its eloquence," not "it's eloquence."

Ahem.

Oh holy moly!! THESE are the days I live for!!!

My weather station is saying it's over 80�, and it's bright sunshiny with just a wee bit of a breeze blowing through. Both Grace and I are wearing short-sleeved shirts and capri pants, and I've got the back patio door wide open to air out the house.

It is just GORGEOUS.

Too bad it won't last. *wink*

Grace's right hand is now dyed green

In art class this morning, we dyed Easter eggs. A few fingers on my right hand, and Grace's entire right hand, are now dyed green. Grace kept dipping her hands into the cup to look at her egg. Silly girl.

My hand looks terrible. If you've been reading me for any length of time, you know I am a compulsive nail-biter. My nails are SHORT, as in practically non-existent. I also have a build-up of dead skin above my nail, and that's really what took the dye so well.

Oops.

Grace enjoyed it, though.

We were invited to go up to the beach north of here a ways by AS, but I declined her offer. It's where Kurt and I used to take Grace to the beach, and it just aches to go there without him. It's just about the only place about which I have that feeling; anywhere else I take Grace and I don't worry about it. I don't know what it is about that place. But thinking about going up there just made my heart ache. The last time we were there, Kurt let Grace splash in the water and I just couldn't stomach being there without him.

AS was understandably a bit miffed, but I did invite her over to my house to let the girls play in my sideyard. I just didn't really want to GO anywhere, to a park or anything, today. I just wanted to be at home in my own yard.

Once we got home, our neighbor's daughter came running over to ask what we were doing, and I invited her to come over and play with Grace in our sideyard. The girls played for about an hour in the sun, and then I fed them lunch.

I made grilled cheese sandwiches (each with two slices of bread) for the girls and gave them each an orange. The little girl ate most of her sandwich, everything but the crust (I hate it when kids do that, but she's not my kid so she got away with it here), and only half her orange. She'll be seven years old at the end of the month. Grace ate her entire sandwich, crusts and all, her entire orange, and the half of the orange her friend didn't eat!!

My two-and-a-half-year-old child can out-eat a seven-year-old.

At 2:30pm I took the little girl back home, fully intending to come home immediately and put Grace down for a nap, something she sorely needs.

I ended up not getting home till 4:30.

But at least we were playing outside!! Grace chased the little girl all over her backyard, and they swung on the swings for a while too. They also have a slide that goes from their deck into the backyard, and Grace and she had this game going on where Grace would go down first and the little girl would go down right afterward. Then Grace would race up to the deck again, but the little girl would beat her to it and go down the slide again before Grace. So the little girl would go down the slide twice for every time Grace went down. For some reason, Grace thought it was hilarious, and since she was laughing so hard, she couldn't run as fast.

I love the sound of a little kid laughing.

So it's been an awesome day, but I'm sure glad I have no plans for the weekend. I don't think I'm going to the Easter egg hunt because I've just heard lots of bad things about it. Easter won't be anything exciting for me either since I don't have family here to eat with, so I'll just stick close to home. Besides, I'm a heathen -- we don't go to church anyhow.




previous * next