bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
04 April 2007

Getting some work done around the house
I've actually gotten some work done today!!

I like to have a lazy day in between days that I go out and about. Where I live, it just makes sense that if I leave in the morning, I'm gone all day. I can't be going out and coming home and going out and coming home in one day. It's just too far.

Since Monday I'd gone out to dinner with J and then afterward to her house, and yesterday I'd gone out all day with CD, I planned today to do NOTHING. I thought AS might call to see if she wanted to get the girls together, but I don't think she's working today.

The whole plan was to just try to get some stitching done today. I'm sure y'all are tired of my whining that my autumn sampler isn't done yet, but somehow I never get the time to sit down and just stitch! There is always something that needs to be done!

This morning I felt it was time to do my laundry. I love doing my own laundry -- I just do two loads, a brights and a darks, and it's easy to do. Grace's laundry, on the other hand, is a whole 'nother matter. For one thing, she has so many clothes that I don't have to do laundry but every two or three weeks. I absolutely hate doing her laundry because it takes me so long to fold it. All the clothes are so little that it's very fiddly work, and I hate it. So I end up in a catch-22 -- she has so many clothes that I don't have to do laundry but every few weeks, but by then she has sooooooo many dirty clothes that it takes forever to fold them and put them away!

I really ought to just suck it up and do her laundry every week, like I do mine.

I threw in my load of brights (I always do darks last because it takes them a while to dry) and tackled Grace's clean clothes, which were still sitting in the dryer. I think it took me forty-five minutes to fold them and put them away. Then again, I did go through her drawers first and put away in storage bins clothes that are too small.

That's one of the first things that Kurt and I are going to do when he gets home. We're going to go through Grace's old clothes AGAIN and ruthlessly cull them. I need him to help so I don't get stuck in all that sentimental crap. Of course I will never give away or get rid of the outfit that we brought Grace home in, and some of her nicer dresses we'll keep, but I don't need to keep ALL of the clothes that I've bought over the last two years. Yes, we're going to have more children, but I know I will still scour the clearance racks for new clothes and thrift stores for gently used clothes for our subsequent children, and then I'll REALLY have too many clothes.

I still have to fold and put away my clothes, but at least Grace's are taken care of. Funny thing is, I contemplated getting out the iron and ironing some of her dresses. I don't even iron my own clothes, but here I am thinking about ironing hers!! That's too funny. She has a few dresses that could stand to be ironed, but I think I pulled most of the wrinkles out as I hung them up.

After I put Grace down for her "nap" (no, she's not actually asleep -- she's talking to herself in her crib), I went out to get the mail and the paper, and I realized it's a very nice day out there! Apparently it's 60�, which is quite nice. I'm surprised it's that warm because it's rather overcast today.

So I decided to get out the weed killer and go to work on my driveway. We have a gravel driveway, and I hate seeing weeds and grass growing in the driveway and along the sides, where the driveway is lined by large rocks.

Once that was finished, I got some weird hair up my butt and decided to scrub off my front porch too! I have Trex decking, the composite plastic-like stuff, so I just grabbed my deck brush and filled a bucket with Simple Green and water and scrubbed away. It worked pretty well too! My deck is now more grey than brown. I don't think it's been this grey since we moved in!!

I think I'll get Kurt to do another once-over to get it really clean. He's stronger than me, and he'll be able to scrub more. My arms are tired!

Poor Grace... I was in her room putting away her clothes, when she started to cry. So I called out to her, "What's wrong, Grace?" Usually she'll tell me, but this time she just kept crying. It wasn't a full cry; it was more of a whine. I kept telling her to come to me so she could tell me or show me what was wrong, but she wouldn't do it. Finally I got frustrated and started counting to three. She usually gets swatted on three, if I get that far. Mostly she starts behaving. But this time she didn't! I stormed out into the living room with full intentions of swatting her when I saw that she couldn't come to me!! She had her leg stuck in the handle to the fabric boxes that store her toys in the entertainment center.

I couldn't help it; I started to giggle! Poor Grace. I eased her leg out of the handle and kissed her and hugged her. It was pretty damn funny.

Then when I came inside after scrubbing the porch, I heard her fussing in her crib. I went in there to tell her to GO TO SLEEP ALREADY, when I noticed her entire torso was sticking out of the neck to her t-shirt, and she was stuck. She couldn't get the t-shirt down over her legs, and she certainly couldn't get it back over her head.

I have no idea how she gets into these predicaments!




previous * next