bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
03 April 2007

Time to go outside and enjoy the weather
Kurt called me today!!!!

I was actually out and about with Grace's art teacher (the one I didn't like at first, remember?? She's actually a really cool lady), and we went to a park. Then she needed to go to Michael's.

Like I am going to say no to going to Michael's.

My phone rang inside Michael's and it was some weird number. I answered it anyhow, and it was Kurt on the other end!! How exciting! I was doubly excited because I hadn't heard from him over email since night before last. Apparently they don't have email in port. Gahhh. Talk about frustrating.

You want to hear something really frustrating and/or nerve-wracking???

The crew was told by the CO that this extension isn't official yet, that he has no orders in writing that the deployment will continue through June.

WTF???

So now do I get excited that since it's not official, he might actually be home next month?? Or do I forget he said anything and just plan on the late June homecoming??

What's a girl to do?

I just checked the website for the Family Support Group (otherwise known as the wives' club, but you can't call 'em "wives' clubs" anymore; it's not PC), and there is no mention anywhere on it regarding an extension. Is it all in my mind??

I think I'll just keep thinking he's coming home in June so I can be mentally prepared if that's the true date. No use in getting all excited that he'll be home next month until I know for sure.

Today Grace's art teacher (we'll call her CD) met us at the rec center when she was done with her classes and took us down to a park near her home. It was a LOVELY day today. It was in the mid-50s, sunny, gorgeous, clear and just amazing. The park has a lake, so we walked almost all the way around the lake, enjoying the sun and the scenery.

Here's a shot of the lake:

Island Lake

There were lots of ducks and geese around:

Mr Mallard takes a walk through the park

Grace ran amok through the park:

Grace runs amok at the park

And CD got an AWESOME shot of Grace and me (which I didn't even have to crop, even a little!):

Grace and Momma!

We had wayyyyy too much fun together. She and I have really hit it off, and I'm so glad that I finally put aside my preconceived notions and starting chatting with her. I think she'll be a really good friend, not just through these last few months that I'm in Washington, but for a long while afterward.

And just in case you haven't gotten your fill of native Northwest beauty, the mountains were out today:

I love how the clouds were hiding some of the mountains today



previous * next