bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 April 2007

Not next month yet
Depressing thought for the day:

If Kurt's ship were still on his original schedule, right now I could be saying, "Kurt will be home next month!!!"

But he's been extended, so I have another four weeks before I can say that.

*sigh*

Four weeks isn't that long in the whole scheme of things, especially since he's been gone for more than 16 weeks, but STILL!

Damn Navy.

What's funny is the extension doesn't just affect Kurt's ship. I was talking to the receptionist at the rec center (whose husband is a Master Chief in the Navy and who was actually Kurt's Command Master Chief on his last ship -- small world and all that), and she told me her husband's ship is getting underway early and they're having to scramble around to get ready. After further conversation, we figured out that the original frigate that was supposed to relieve Kurt's frigate is having rudder issues (and not having an operating rudder isn't a good thing on a ship), so the Navy's decided to send out the receptionist's husband's frigate instead, and they have to leave much earlier than anticipated so that Kurt's ship isn't out to sea longer than it has to be.

(How's that for a run-on sentence??)

It doesn't rain but it pours.

Yesterday's housecleaning has actually paid off for once. I think I mentioned my lack of motivation in cleaning the house since the only people who see it at this point are Grace and me. Grace really doesn't care what the house looks like; in fact, I think she likes it messy, as she spends most of her time and energy in messing it up.

However, J called me this morning as soon as she got home from running errands to ask me what I was doing today. We've arranged to get together eventually, and we're even going to have dinner together. The original plan was to make something yummy, but then she mentioned she wanted to watch the basketball tournament that's on tonight. She wanted to be finished eating by the time it starts at 6pm.

She then mentioned the magic word.....

"Pizza!"

So yeah, I think we're having pizza tonight.

My huge Costco container of salad will come in handy. Salad with feta cheese (which I also get at Costco), some sliced olives, and some good vinaigrette... YUMMY!

I even made a cake.

What IS it with me and baking lately?? I baked cookies on Friday, and today I've made a cake! What the heck? Michele is the official baker in the family.

I made my emergency chocolate cake, otherwise referred to as my mayonnaise cake. And before you say, "Ewwww!!!" it is actually quite good. What goes into a cake anyhow??? Eggs and oil, right?? What's mayonnaise? Eggs, oil, a little vinegar, and some spices. Trust me; it works.

My house is now filled with the heavenly scent of chocolate. And much to Chocolate Chaos's pleasure, I am sure, I used dark chocolate cocoa powder. Mmmm. Now I'll have to make sure I don't pig out on pizza so I have room for the cake!!

Or I could always eat dessert first....




previous * next