bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
30 March 2007

A bunny bucket
I know y'all are probably sick of photos by now, but I just had to share what we made in art (not to be confused with Art) class today!!!

A bunny bucket!!!

Now tell me that isn't cute!!!

We took a metal bucket and let the kids pounce their choice of colors all over the bucket. Grace chose blue and white, but it just sort of looks like pale blue all over because she's a huge fan of mixing colors. Then I dried the paint with a hair dryer and added all the fun stuff! Initially I started doing the gluing with this cement-in-a-tube the art teacher had, but that wasn't bonding quickly enough for me. So I switched to the hot glue gun. Let's just hope it holds for a while.

This was a very involved process, surprisingly enough. We also made bunny pins from wooden ice cream spoons.

I used to hate those damn things when I was in elementary school. My second elementary school (out of three) used to offer ice cream as the dessert every day with the hot lunch, and the little tubs would come with those wooden spoons. Mine always broke because the ice cream was hard as a rock.

But it was still good.

So art class was a blast today, although poor Grace didn't get to do much. I had to do most of the gluing and other fiddly work. We still have one more class at this early time, and then the following week Grace gets switched into the 10:15am class for older kids.

The only downside to going to the later class is now I won't be able to see my "boyfriend" after class. He usually gets off at 11am at the bakery, which is when this later art class ends.

I'm still going to the bakery after class. I need my weekly raspberry scone!!!

Today after art class, I went to the bakery and got my scone, while Grace enjoyed a honey-bran muffin. We walked around downtown again, even though we'd just done it yesterday, but I had less patience to shop today. I actually didn't buy anything! WOW!!

When I got home, J was outside doing yardwork with her kids. I walked over to say hi and to give her one of the pins, since I knew she would love it, and she invited me over later in the afternoon to sit in the sun and enjoy some iced tea.

Of course, by the time we'd set to meet, the sun had gone away, so it was quite chilly outside. But we did get some fresh air anyhow.

I'd decided to make cookies today too. Any of you who know my sister Michele also know that she is the baker in the family. But I thought to myself, "OK, so J is inviting me over and making iced tea. I should bring something with me!!" That's when I got the bright idea of making cookies.

Wednesday's paper had a recipe for orange-oatmeal cookies, which sounded divine. So that's what I made! They turned out extremely yummy, very orange-y and sweet all at once. I think maybe the next time I make them I'll throw in some dried cranberries. Wouldn't that be awesome??? Mmmm yummy.

I ended up spending just over two hours at J's house. Her daughter played with Grace most of the time, and even took her over to the neighbor's to play on the swing set. I have a feeling Grace is going to sleep GOOD tonight!!

Now it's off to figure out what to cook for dinner!!!




previous * next