bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
28 March 2007

First day of the season at the beach
Thanks for all of your comments on yesterday's entry. I do realize that most women think they're fat. That wasn't my point. My point is, no matter how fat you think you are, DO NOT say you're fat around women fatter than you. I have a very good friend, a very gorgeous woman IMHO, who is heavier than I am. I have never complained about my weight around her. Granted, I very rarely complain about my weight anyhow. But please... for the sanity of all us fat chicks in the world, keep your "I'm so fat!" comments to yourself. Unless you're around Paris Hilton; then go ahead and kvetch.

Ahem.

Thank you for letting me vent.


Today is an absolutely gorgeous day. I knew it was supposed to be at least a little warmer than it has been in recent days, but I didn't expect the sun to come out with such a vengeance.

Not that I am complaining!!! Quite the opposite, actually.

Last night I decided today would be a great day for cleaning the house. I guess I am getting the spring cleaning bug because the condition of this house is totally getting on my nerves. I'm not a great housekeeper. My house is clean, but cluttered, if that makes any sense. So it's not exactly neat, and that's what's bothering me. I seriously need to de-clutter. Seriously.

I knew AS would probably call me to do something, and I had full intentions of turning her down. I really wanted to clean the house! Then also I've been out every day this week, and I needed a break.

But then she calls, and of course, I say yes because it's just too nice a day to stay inside and clean.

Naughty me.

We met up at the park near her little girl's house and let the girls ride bikes and play on the playground for a while. Then it was time for some coffee! Since I was the only one who got coffee, much to Grace's chagrin (yes, she keeps trying to steal my coffee!), I asked AS if she wanted to go walk around instead of sitting in the coffee shop. That's when she figured out how to get to the beach near the ferry terminal.

It was just sooooooooo lovely down there. The waves gently crashing into the shoreline calms my soul somehow. There's just something about it; I don't know what.

I am definitely a water baby.

Grace loved chucking the sand all around and getting herself filthy.

Grace throws sand at the Kingston beach

But of course, that's part of being a kid -- throwing sand and getting filthy!

There are more photos HERE if you're interested. Some are of the ferry coming in, which is sort of the Seattle trademark.

I think we spent two hours outside between the park and the beach. My mood has brightened considerably as a result.

Once we got home, I realized I should run up to Walmart. Grace needed a new helmet for her bike (she gets her huge melon head from me, unfortunately), and I needed a new phone clip. Mine broke. They're supposedly unbreakable, and they even have a guarantee, but I don't have the time to mail it back to the company and get a replacement. Besides, with all the stress I put on this clip I'm surprised it's lasted as long as it has!

When we got home, there was a box at my front door. It was from my mom. The towels she found for me are exactly the right color! I am so happy!! I can't believe she found the exact shade. I'm so pleased. So that made my day too.

It's been a rough day, mentally... Four months ago today, Kurt left on his deployment. We still have three months to go.

*sigh*




previous * next