bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 March 2007

Thin girls and fat chicks
Why do women have to bitch about how fat they are???

And the annoying thing is they're not even fat! I am getting so tired of seeing thin to medium-sized women go on and on and on about how fat they are.

GET OVER YOURSELVES, ALREADY.

I was watching QVC last night as I was cuing up another show in the DVR, and the hostess (one that I normally love) was taking a call from a woman who said she [the caller] looked great from the neck down. Of course, that made everyone laugh, and eventually the hostess said, "You probably look much better than I do in a swim suit!!!"

Gahhhhhhh.

The hostesses on QVC are good about letting us know what size they were so we can see how an outfit would look on different body types. This particular hostess is a former beauty queen who wears a size small, sometimes an extra small, and is usually a size 6.

Where the hell does she get off saying she looks bad in a bathing suit???

Sure, every woman has something about their body they don't like. But when you're tall and relatively slender, there is a swimsuit out there to hide your flaws. If you've got a paunch, you can buy a swimsuit to hold it in. If you've got no boobs, you can buy a suit that draws attention away from your chest. If you've got no waist, you can get a suit that gives you the illusion of an hour-glass figure.

What do you do if you're me??

You look like shit in a swimsuit and you grin and bear it.

There is no way to camouflage my fat. I am mostly fat from my waist down. I have a lovely waist, for being as overweight as I am, and I have big boobs too. But I have huge thighs that touch from my crotch all the way to my knees. My hips actually get bigger from my hip bone down because my thighs are so large. I have what I call "fat lady knees," where the fat of the thighs hangs over my knees. My butt and my thighs are covered in cellulite. There is no way to hide all that in a swimsuit.

Sure, I could get a skirted suit, but then that just draws MORE attention to where I am fattest. All the skirts stop right at my fattest point. I don't need help drawing attention there.

I just need to go to the beach in a wet suit.

A wet suit with a skirt. That would be cute.

Honestly, I'm just tired of all these normal-sized women bitching about how fat they are. I've been around slender friends who say, "Look how fat I am!!" Do they not understand how that makes ME feel?? If they think they're fat, at a size 6 or 8 or 10, how does that make ME feel at a size 16 or 18?

I've always BEEN fat too. Well, okay, I think there was a time in second grade where I was more normal-sized, but I was 100 pounds at age 10. I was a size 16 in high school. And that was before they made juniors' plus sizes, so all the clothes I was able to buy in high school were for grown women, not teenagers.

When I was in college, I lived in a dorm full of tanned, athletic, Barbie-doll type co-eds, nearly all of whom rushed for a sorority freshman year. I didn't even bother looking into a sorority. Who would take such a chubby girl anyhow?

Going to the dining hall was so annoying because I would splurge about once a month and get a slice of Boston creme pie (my favorite). These girls would waltz by carrying their huge plates of salad with fat-free dressing and glare at me, like they were saying, "See?? That's why you're so fat!"

I know I get laughed at because my butt is so large. I know people have pointed and stared because I don't hide my body under shapeless tents.

But really. People would never dream of saying, "I'm so retarded!" while standing near a developmentally disabled person. Why is it okay for people to say "I'm so fat!" while standing within earshot of a fat person?

Gahhhhhh.




previous * next