bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
08 March 2007

Recycling day woes
Kurt thanks you all for his birthday wishes! It's still weird to think yesterday was his birthday, since for the last seven years we've always spent our birthdays together. But that's the life of a sailor!


I am starting to get really peeved with the folks in my neighborhood. See, when we got all that purty snow last Thursday, it was our trash AND recycling day. Trash comes every week; recycling comes every other week.

When I got home from Cabin Fever last week, there was a message on my phone from Waste Management (aka, WM) saying that if our service is interrupted, it would resume with a double pick-up on our regularly scheduled trash day.

Funny thing is, our trash was successfully picked up last Thursday, albeit a bit late. However, the recycling truck did not come. That annoyed me because WM uses virtually the same truck for trash and for recycling. If the trash guy could make it into the neighborhood, there's no reason the recycling guy couldn't come too.

But that's neither here nor there at the moment.

I, along with most of the neighborhood, left out my recycling through Friday, on the off-chance that the message WM sent me was slightly off and they'd send the recycling truck through on the next day. When Saturday came, I realized I was out of luck and brought my recycling bins back into the garage.

No one else in the neighborhood (save J, who took her recycling to the recycling center yesterday) has followed suit. There are recycling bins standing out in the wind and the rain at the end of nearly every driveway.

It looks terrible, like we live in a town dump. Papers from the Mixed Paper bins tends to fly out when the wind picks up, so now we have paper floating around the neighborhood. The Mixed Containers (plastic, glass, and metal) bins are attracting dogs and probably raccoons. It's been raining the last two days solidly, and for most of the past weekend as well, so everything is getting soaked.

I don't understand why my neighbors are so damn lazy. And what are they doing with their recyclables while the bins are out at the curb?? Are they making daily pilgrimages down to the end of their driveways to add more things to the bins? Then why not bring the bins back inside??

It just makes no sense at all.




previous * next