bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
05 March 2007

Warm spring weather on the way
What the crap??

Weatherbug is telling me it's supposed to be 65 degrees tomorrow.

And to think, I entertained the idea of actually shaving my legs in the shower tonight and quickly discarded it.

I guess I'll have to shave my calves tomorrow so I can wear capris. WOOOOOOOOO capris!!!

Can you believe it???

I actually found Grace's earring back!!!

I am so shocked. Yesterday when I realized it was missing, I had checked all the likely places. When I dressed her yesterday, I had pulled off her jammie top a little too hard, so I looked on the changing table. I looked in her crib, thinking maybe the earring back had fallen off as she slept. I looked in her booster seat because maybe it had gotten caught in her bib. I looked on the floor under the booster seat, and realized I really needed to sweep the floor.

Having a toddler means never-ending housework.

But the earring back was in none of those places. I had resigned myself to having to go out today, which is the last thing I wanted to do. I had had such a lazy day yesterday, I figured I could do with another one.

Late last night, after Grace was in bed, I thought of one more place it could be. Honestly I thought the earring back was gone forever, since it could very well have been at HC's house, and since she's much more vigilant about housekeeping than I am, there was a good chance it was residing in her vacuum by then.

I went out to the mailbox to retrieve the paper (I hadn't left my house ALL DAY yesterday, not even to get the paper), and figured I'd just check the truck for grins and chuckles. Amazingly enough, there it was, on the floor of the backseat, under Grace's car seat!!!

I can't believe I even managed to see it, as the light in the truck is rather dim, and it was full dark when I went out to check. But I am so stoked about it. YAY!

So now I am going absolutely nowhere today. I had entertained the idea of going to the post office, but then I realized if I waited till the mail was delivered tomorrow, then I can send out three issues of Kurt's Navy Times in a packet, instead of just the two I have on hand already. Smart me.

What have I done so far today?? Amazingly enough, I did a very thorough job of vacuuming.

Grace had been watching Mr Rogers' Neighborhood, and today's episode featured learning about vacuums. What a coincidence! He had a canister vac, though, and I hate the things. But he was showing how he could vacuum off everything in his living room, including his couch, with the attachments he had. I thought to myself, "Hey, I've got a big attachment like that; maybe that would be easier to vacuum off the couch than with the tiny one I normally use!!"

See, you're never too old to learn from Mr. Rogers!

I tried it, and what do you know?? It worked! So I vacuumed the whole house, I vacuumed the couches off, I even vacuumed the kitchen floor! I find it's much easier to vacuum the kitchen floor than sweep it due to all the cat hair that just swirls around the broom while I'm sweeping.

I love having a small house. It allows me to plug the vacuum in once, and still reach the farthest corners.

Guess what I found as I was vacuuming, however?

Kurt's lost ear plug

That, dear friends, is the bane of my existence when Kurt is home. And even though he's been gone for three months, I find yet ANOTHER one.

It's an ear plug. Kurt has to go down to the engine room quite frequently as part of his job, and he has to wear ear plugs to protect his hearing. Of course, I think he's deaf anyhow. He certainly doesn't hear me when I ask him to take the trash out. When he's done with the ear plugs, he generally takes them out and then puts them in his pocket to use again when he needs to go back to the engine room. Then he comes home and washes his coveralls (I am very bad Navy wife and make him take care of all of his uniforms), and as he's checking the pockets, at least one pair of ear plugs fall out. My psycho cat then bats them around the house and I find them everywhere as I'm trying to vacuum.

This one happens to be stuck in the doorway between the living room and the kitchen, where we had to remove the molding in order to install the baby gate to keep Grace out of the kitchen. I think I'll just leave it there until Kurt gets home.

Speaking of which, have you seen my ticker lately?? We're down to TWO MONTHS!! WOOOO HOOOO!!! Time's just a-flyin'!!




previous * next