bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 March 2007

My new pink jacket
WOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

Finally!!!!!

My new jacket arrived today!! This replaces the snakeskin jacket my husband bought me for my birthday, the one I had to return because the snakeskin print was flaking off. Then I had gotten a pink leather bomber jacket, but I'd made the mistake of ordering an XL, when I should have gotten a large. And it smelled weird too, not like regular leather. I think it was because of the coloring they used on the leather.

THIS is the final jacket, and I LOVE IT! It's so me!! The sleeves are covered in rhinestone hearts, there's another rhinestone heart on the back yoke, and the buttons are rhinestone-studded hearts. Plus the front seams have rhinestones running down them. And it's PINK! I am so enthralled; you have no idea.

There are slight drawbacks: one, the jacket is very light, and usually when it's warm enough for this jacket, I wouldn't wear one at all. I may have to change that. Second, it has no pockets. That's a very minor problem; I almost always wear jeans, so I'll just stick my keys into my jeans pocket.

Have I mentioned I LOVE this jacket???

Tee hee.

So at art class today, the teacher had us painting with spaghetti noodles. She'd boiled up some noodles, put them in a bag, and added paint. Then she gave each of the kids a few noodles in red, yellow, and blue. We were to lay the noodles out on the thick black board she gave us, then pick up the noodles, leaving the paint behind. Then once we had all the colors on the paper that we wanted, we then laid the noodles back on so they would dry and give the project some texture.

It was actually a really cool project. I'll post photos tomorrow, if I remember. It's still drying, so the noodles are still a bit fragile.

I guess I've gotten used to the teacher and the way she talks over the kids. She doesn't bother me so much anymore. Today I was even teasing her because she says she can't cook, so we were giggling together.

But there is this one mother in the class I just want to shove out the door as soon as she walks in. The daughter she has enrolled in the class is her youngest, and I think it's neat she's really trying to do something one-on-one with a child that may otherwise get somewhat lost in the shuffle. Most folks do really well in doing cool things like an art class with their first child, but by the time there's two or three kids total, it gets much more difficult to spend one-on-one time together like that.

So I've got to commend her for that.

I still don't like her.

For one thing, she's one of those people that has to talk ALL THE DAMN TIME. I know I said I have "verbal diarrhea" at times, but most of the time I know when to shut up. I'm too busy helping Grace with her projects and coming up with creative things to do during class that I can't sit there and yammer away like this mother does. She's constantly talking to the teacher about things not remotely related to the class.

And she's loud. I swear you can hear her in the hall when the door's closed. There's no way to hide from her voice. So we all get to hear about the times she lived in Virginia and when they moved here to Washington and the fact they didn't get any snow but school was closed and her middle daughter was sick so she had to take the littlest and the middle child to the bus stop to pick up the oldest child but the buses had been delayed an hour in picking up the children at the school so she was left waiting and wondering what was happening.....

She asked me one day which sub my husband was on, which is a legitimate question since we live closest to a sub-base. When I said my husband was surface, she sort of turned up her nose at me and said, "Oh."

Submariners' wives don't care too much for surface wives.

Oh well. I just have a few more classes with this lady. For next semester, I've got Grace signed up for the second class of the morning, which starts at 10:15am -- a much better time for me. The loud lady already informed us that the earlier class works better for her schedule, so she'll be staying in that class.

Thank goodness.




previous * next