bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
01 March 2007

Overly friendly?
Something strange happened to me today...

I was accused of being "too friendly."

Seeing as I can suffer from social anxiety, I find that funny, if not laughable.

Today I went to Cabin Fever, although I very nearly did not make it out of the neighborhood. There is a huge hill to go down to exit the development, and since I figured that would probably be icy, I opted to go the back route. Even that is questionable with my little car, as it involves scaling an incline at just the precise angle to cause your tires to slip. There is also a stop sign placed at the exact center of this incline, so you're doubly screwed. The last ice storm we had, they sanded the crap out of that intersection, and I was still relatively housebound. My poor car just gets no traction there.

We must have gotten close to four inches of snow last night, strangely enough. When I got up at 8:40am this morning (I'm getting better!), it was just gorgeous outside. This is what I saw:

Look at our snow!!!

(And yes, folks, that's the same burnt-up transformer on the top of my power pole that caused all the issues in December. I'm not sure the power company will ever replace it, but since it works just fine, I don't much care.)

It just doesn't get any purtier than that!!!

I decided to brave the roads, since the snow was melting very quickly. I didn't even have to brush my car off; I'm sure the wind from driving would have blown it all off. But the car was so warm that as I brushed off the snow, it just sort of slid off the car. My road looked fine until I hit the areas that are in shadow. They were a mess, all slushy and slippery. But once I got out of the neighborhood, I was on all well-traveled roads, so it was just fine driving south.

When I got to town, they had hardly any snow! And I was only seven miles south of the house. It's amazing how the weather can be so vastly different just a few miles south.

Once I got to Cabin Fever, my friend AS hadn't gotten there yet, so I started chatting to the woman sitting next to me. She had two absolutely adorable children, a 2-and-a-half year old boy and a one-year-old girl. She had told me that some of her friends were critical that her son was still in a crib, which flabbergasted me. Grace is still in her crib because I like her being confined when I'm still asleep in the morning. Besides, she likes her crib. She uses it as a trampoline every morning.

Later AS showed up, and so I started chatting to her. But every so often, I would turn back to the other lady and talk to her. So finally AS told me, as the other lady left with her kids, "You're too friendly."

My chin about dropped to the floor. AS didn't mean it in an offensive way; she just thought I was more anti-social. Most of the time when I'm at Cabin Fever by myself, I just sit and watch Grace have fun. It's not that often that I find another mother I can chat with, so when I do, I guess I sort of have "verbal diarrhea." That's what my father calls it, anyhow.

I'm hoping the snow is completely melted by tomorrow morning, as I have to leave the house at the butt-crack of dawn (by my standards) to go to art class, or at least that the roads are merely wet. I'm not a fan of driving in the slush. People here don't how to drive in the stuff, and I myself am not completely confident, as I don't drive in snow very often.

That will change next year in Rhode Island!




previous * next