bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
17 February 2007

No communication with the ship
*sigh*

Not only is the trip to Florida canceled for the ship, but now communications are severely limited.

Kurt warned me that email was going down when he called me from Panama a couple of days ago, so I'm prepared. But it still sucks the big one.

Especially since we just found out that the guys aren't going to Florida. This whole deployment I have been telling myself that if I can just make it to March, when the guys get to Florida and Kurt and I can call each other as much as we like (thank God for free cell phone minutes), the rest of the deployment will fly by. Now that's taken away from us, and to make matters worse, I can't even communicate with my husband through email.

I know I'm lucky to have email. Even in this day and age, the submariners have to go through long stretches of time when they can neither send nor receive email because to do so would compromise the security of the sub. But Kurt's not on a sub. Any country with a decent satellite can easily figure out where Kurt's ship is.

When you get used to having three, four, five emails from your husband every day, it sucks when you haven't heard from him in two days. The Command Master Chief just sent the wives an email stating that communications are down and will remain so.

Grrrrr.

On a happier note, it is a fan-freakin'-tastic day outside! It's nearly 60�, and it's sunny and gorgeous. I don't even think there is a cloud in the sky. I've got my bedroom window and the back patio sliding door wide open. It's so lovely to open the house and get some of the stale air from all winter out!! YAY for fresh air!!

I may not update for the next couple of days. I've got my friend coming to visit for my birthday. I even cleaned the house for her!!!




previous * next