bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
30 October 2006

So very very quiet
Shhhhhhhhh. Be quiet. Be very, very quiet.

Actually, it's too quiet around here. Kurt went back to work today after being on leave for two weeks in preparation for his six-month deployment next month. I got up at 4:30am this morning with him to help him get everything together, but when I woke up again after going back to bed, it was odd to be alone. It was so nice rolling over every morning and seeing my husband in bed with me.

My in-laws are disappointed we didn't take advantage of his two-week break to head to Tucson for a visit. Kurt's dad hasn't seen him in a year and a half, but his mother was just here in September for his pinning ceremony. It would have been nice to be able to spend time with his extended family, but at the same time, I wanted us to spend it together, just Kurt and Grace and me. His work schedule had been so crazy the last year or so that we didn't get a whole lot of time to spend together. So we elected to stay home instead of going to Tucson, which lead to a few attempted guilt trips, but Kurt successfully thwarted them.

So now he's back to work, and I'm sad. It was nice to have him home, available to watch Grace while I went and did something on my own, or just someone else to change dirty diapers! And we've been able to spend so little time together that it was so nice just to have him around and watch tv with.

Kurt has duty tonight as well, which means he won't be home till tomorrow. There was some question whether he had to work tomorrow (they're in a stand-down period where he really should have to work only every three days, the days he has duty and has to stay on the ship overnight), but he's told them he's coming home regardless. Grace has a doctor's appointment tomorrow to monitor her large birthmark on her hip, and I'm quite afraid they're going to tell me that it has to be removed. I wanted Kurt there for moral support, but also so he could demonstrate his own large birthmark on his hip, although hers is quite a bit bigger than his. The original appointment was in August while he had been underway for a few weeks, but I had rescheduled so he could go with me, and this was the soonest they could see us.

I've got my fingers crossed that her birthmark won't have to be removed, but I'm not too hopeful. Her birthmark is dark brown, has very irregular edges, and is probably three inches long and an inch tall. Plus there are two black spots inside the mark. From everything I've read, the sheer size of the mark is enough to make her dermatologist concerned. Of course I will have it removed if it's an issue of her health, but it's just one more thing I will have to deal with while Kurt's on deployment.

Today Grace and I are just chilling. I don't particularly want to go anywhere, and I really ought to call my friend down the street and let her know Kurt's back to work, so I'm available for playdates. But I'd just rather sit and play on the computer, maybe get some chores down, and relax.

I've got to start getting used to Kurt being away again. I'm just thankful we've got some time to ease into it; he's got one more month before he leaves.

The funny part about this deployment is poor Kurt won't get a winter this year! He's heading to South America, which has summer during our winter months, and by the time South America starts to descend into fall, he'll be near Florida and back to summer weather. Poor guy -- he's not keen on warm weather!




previous * next