bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
25 July 2006

In which Grace proves she is a fish
Hold on to your hats, folks -- the world is about to end.

How do I know this?? Kurt's ship, known for keeping him at work till well past a normal quitting time, let him go home yesterday after only a half-day, and is possibly doing the same thing today.

I'm in shock.

But it's nice to have him home. There was so long where I'd only see him long enough to feed him, watch an hour of tv, and then go to bed. Now we have enough time to enjoy ourselves. He has plenty of time to unwind, he gets to play with Gracie, I have help getting dinner on the table, and we can leisurely eat and enjoy each other's company.

Too bad this can't last forever. He goes out to sea on 7 August, back to San Diego. Poor guy.

The heat wave has broken, which is quite lovely. Now I can get back to my normal life!! It was just too darn hot to do anything, especially housework. That was my excuse, anyhow.

Last Friday it was 104�, and the whole weekend hit at least 95�. In order to beat the heat, we spent the whole weekend out of the house. Saturday we just went around shopping and enjoying life, while Sunday we went to the pool. Grace is definitely our child -- she's a complete and total fish!! The pool we like to go to has a zero-depth entrance, so as soon as she sees the pool she's off like a shot into it. Then she keeps wading out deeper and deeper. Even when the water is over her head, she's bobbing, trying to get air every few steps, and she keeps going!! If Kurt hadn't been pulling her back, she would have ended up in the deep end.

Kurt and I love the water. When he was a kid growing up in Tucson, his mom would drop him and his two younger brothers off at the pool every day, where they spent the entire day outside in the sun at the pool. He got so tanned his family thought he looked like a Mexican. But you just couldn't keep him out of the water.

After I got my driver's license, my parents thought I'd make an excellent chauffeur for my baby brother, who's ten years younger than I am. So Mark and I would head off, pick up my then-boyfriend James, and end up at the pool on the Army base near our house. Nearly every day we three would go to the pool because it was the cheapest thing to do, only a dollar admission or some such. Later when I moved in with Kurt after my college graduation, I spent every day at the pool at our apartment complex. That was pretty much the only summer in my life I ever got a tan.

But now the weather should be getting back to normal, somewhere in the mid- to upper-70s, at least till the major heat hits in August. Fortunately heat waves here aren't too bad. For one thing, they're generally short-lived. Secondly, we have a natural air conditioner in which the temperature plummets once the sun goes down. So while the house may get terribly hot during the day, like 90�+ inside, it's easy to cool off with fans at night because it goes down to 55� or lower. Also we tend to have a few hot days interspersed with cooler days.

I'm definitely glad this particular heat wave is over, though!




previous * next