bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
07 July 2006

Dandelions begone
With as hoity-toity as my region likes to pretend to be, you'd think we wouldn't have any rednecks (besides me) around here. Ahhh, but you'd be wrong!

Psycho Woman, the woman who lives next door, had her male friend out mowing the lawn this morning, which is an excellent thing because her lawn was completely covered in dandelions that were standing two to three feet tall. I don't mind unkempt lawns; I do mind dandelions going to seed and ending up in my lawn! I have enough problems with dandelions in my own yard, thankyouverymuch.

So Psycho's boy toy (I think her boyfriend is someone else) managed to get her riding lawnmower fixed up and went out to do battle with the dandelions. This particular boy toy chose to wear a t-shirt while mowing, which I think is always a good thing because who wants to get shot with flying lawn bits. But he also chose to tuck a cigarette behind his right ear, and he made sure he had his can of Bud Light in his hand.

At 10:30am.

Yes, yes, I know it's 5 o'clock somewhere in the world, but still! And Bud Light?? At least drink a beer with some flavor!

I wanted to go out there and hand him a bottle of Henry Weinhard's Hefeweizen. Good stuff, ya know. And this guy was rail thin -- he could have handled the extra calories in a decent bottle of beer.

But at least the dandelions are gone and won't be going to seed in my yard.

In other news, it's absolutely stunningly gorgeous day outside. The sun is shining, the few clouds present are high and white, and the temperature is right up my alley -- mid 70s. I'm in heaven. I'm also in shorts, shockingly enough, after my decision not to wear shorts because I have what I fondly refer to as "fat lady knees." That's where the fat over one's quads hangs down over one's knees, and since I carry 85% of the fat on my body in the region between my waist and my knees (and the other 15% in my breasts), I definitely qualify as having "fat lady knees." My resolution was to wear only crops, capris, pedal pushers, clam diggers, and any other pant that cunningly covers one's knees all summer, as it doesn't normally get hot enough to absolutely require shorts. But then I finally cleared out my winter clothing this morning and unpacked my summer stuff and found quite the flattering pair of shorts I bought at Target last year. They're slightly too large, but they'll be all right anyhow.

The last few days it's been in the low 60s, which is hard for my Virginia-summer-hardened body to get used to. I was absolutely freezing the last couple of days, and actually contemplated putting on the heat. Last night Kurt attempted to warm me by piling three blankets (one of them wool) and two throw pillows on top of me. I did finally warm up after about 20 minutes, snuggled in under all those blankets.

And now it's off to see what Gracie is fussing about!




previous * next