bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
20 June 2006

In which Gracie experiences head trauma
Today was supposed to be simple, which means, of course, that it wasn't. Murphy's Law and all that.

I don't think Mr Murphy likes me all that much...

First we went to the NEX to look for some new sandals for Gracie. It's like her feet go through massive growth spurts. For the longest time when she was a newborn, she was in the size 0 crib shoes, then she slowly moved up to the size 1s when she was four months old, or thereabouts. She went completely past the size 2s into size 3. She had a few size 4s, but she really went straight into size 5, with the exception of her Skechers, which are a size 6 because they run really small. I had her tiny feet measured at Nordstrom's when we were there on Friday, and the lady measured her out to a size 6 1/2 to 7, wide, of course. When I bought these sandals, the size 6s were enormous on her, which is why I went with the 5s. But they're already too small.

And the NEX is out of the size 6s.

Then it was off to Tarjay Boutique to get cat litter. They have this dried citrus litter that is awesome for deodorizing the cat box, but they're the only ones that sell it. So I had to go there. While browsing the aisles to see what else I needed (because you don't just get one thing when you go to Target; you may go there for one thing but you always come out with a ton more), I realized it was time for me to visit the powder room.

We headed off to the pharmacy restroom, which is just a toilet in a large room right next to the pharmacy. I had Gracie in my hip carrier, but it would be difficult to accomplish my mission with her still in the carrier, so I let her down to run around the bathroom while I did my thing. She put her feet down on the floor, and then decided to run off a bit.

What she didn't realize was her foot was still entwined in the hip carrier, and BOOM! Down she went.

Oh boy did she scream!! I was so afraid people would think I was beating her, and there wans't much I could do to console her. Finally I was able to do my thing and then leave the restroom, and I put Gracie back into my carrier since she was so very fussy. As I rubbed her head to console her as best I could, I realized she had a massive goose-egg on her forehead.

Oh dear.

I went to the pharmacy to ask for an ice pack, but it was 1:40pm and they close between 1:30 and 2 for lunch. A gentleman in a red shirt had asked me just moments before if I needed anything, so I flagged him down again and asked for an ice pack. He delegated that chore to another woman with him (I think they were managers checking out the store; they seemed like high-up individuals, complete with notepads, etc), and she went to the canteen area to get me ice in a ziploc bag.

So then I decided it was time for a trip to the ER. Thank God that Kurt's in the military; we don't have to worry about paying for a trip to the ER because it's all included in our health insurance. I don't even owe a co-pay. The woman at Target took my name and number down, along with what exactly happened in the restroom, probably in case I sue them (which I won't), and told me she'd call tomorrow to check up on Grace.

Fortunately I was already halfway to the ER, so it wasn't a long trip there. The nurses saw us almost immediately, and the physician's assistant who checked Gracie out decided it probably wasn't serious enough to warrant a CT scan and sent us home with a sheet of possible symptoms of a concussion or other head trauma.

I wasn't too worried that she had a concussion since she'd hit her forehead, which is the hardest part of the skull. But I just wanted a doctor to look at her and make sure she was all right. Of course, she is, but I feel so much better for having gone to the ER.

And shockingly enough, we were in an out in an hour and a half!!! The longest part was waiting for the discharge instructions. That was hard on Grace because she'd had enough of my holding her and/or sitting on my lap, so she wanted to go out and explore. But now we're home, and she's finally getting her nap.

I think it may be time for me to rest my eyes as well...




previous * next