bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
18 July 2005

Summer has arrived
One of these days I swear I'm going to write a nasty little letter to Mr Bill Gates. It was supposed to be so easy!!! *sigh*

All I wanted to do was play a new CD I just got from BMG. If you bought Eminem's Encore, you could get it and anothe CD for $15, and I know Kurt would want The Killers CD, so I went ahead and got the Eminem CD.

I don't much like rap... I don't know why I like Eminem. I just do.

I wanted to listen to the CD before I put it in my mp3 player, and I went looking through my computer for Windows Media Player. Couldn't find it, but I didn't think I was looking all that hard.

So I decided to use MusicMatch instead. Either it doesn't recognize the CD or it doesn't recognize my CD drive because it keeps telling me to make sure that I have a CD inserted in the drive.

I went back looking for Windows Media Player. This time I really looked hard through everything, and even went through My Computer to find the shortcut to the exe.

Nothing.

See, a while ago when I was informed that my IE was corrupt, I "deleted" it by using Add/Remove Windows Components. While I was doing that, it kept removing Outlook Express too, and since I have three Hotmail accounts I have to check (one is Kurt's) I like to use Outlook Express. Nothing else will work with Hotmail -- of course. If you could use something else with Hotmail, Bill Gates would lose out, you see.

Finally I got it to where IE was "removed" and Outlook Express was working. I didn't think another thing about it.

Until tonight, when I figured out (FINALLY) that I must have deleted WMP when I was messing around with the Add/Remove Windows Components.

So I added it again, thereby deleting Outlook Express as well even though I unchecked the box. Somehow I managed to effect a hostile takeover of Windows and now I have both WMP and Outlook Express.

All to listen to a damn CD on my damn computer!!!

I think next time I will just stick it into my stereo. It's a hell of a lot easier.

OK I just figured out one track I'm not putting on my mp3 player or burning onto the copy I mail Michele. It's really gross. Lots of puking noises. No thank you. :o)

Summer has definitely arrived in the Northwest, and while it got really hot in the house in the late afternoon, it started cooling off fairly early, so it's nice and cool already in the house. Life is good.

Tomorrow I'm going to this book party. Kind of like a Mary Kay party, but it's something to do with kids' books. The girl who invited me, B, lives down the street and has three boys under the age of 6. They are so handsome!! She's done a good job with them.

I went ahead and said yes, I'd be there -- amazingly enough!! Aren't you proud??

I have this mild social anxiety thing. If I get invited somewhere and I won't know most of the people there, I'll most likely say no. I know it's really bad of me, it prevents me from meeting people who could become really good friends of mine. I'm just chicken; I don't know why.

After I'd already said yes, I found out J was going to be there, so I feel better already. I also invited R because B said it was going to be more of a neighborhood ladies' get-together than the book spiel, so I thought R would want to meet more neighborhood ladies. She can't go; she has a La Leche meeting.

I can't breastfeed, so I can't go. I'm the enemy to La Leche League people because my boobies don't work and I have to use formula.

I am evil. :o)

But R and I are going to the mall on Friday. Life is good. :o)




previous * next