bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
06 July 2005

Swooning for Bon Jovi
Today was Grace's 9-month well-baby checkup. Yes, she is a well baby. :o) And for those of you who are keeping track, she is 20 pounds 4 ounces, and is 27 inches tall. She can crawl, pull up, cruise along furniture, say "ma ma ma ma" and "ba ba ba ba," stand momentarily on her own, and get pissed off when I take something away from her. :o)

Tonight marked another milestone. Tonight I gave her real food for the first time. I had beef stroganoff left over from when I cooked over the weekend, so she and I shared that with some cooked broccoli. Yum! She seemed to enjoy feeding herself, which she's been doing for quite some time with Cheerios. I don't mind feeding her so much, but it's nice not to have to worry about bringing special food along everywhere I go. I think I need to buy one of those special utensils for toddlers to get liquid-y stuff into their mouths so I can give her yogurt and stuff on her own. I also have to get ready for my kitchen to be a complete mess, at least where the high chair is!!

I was in the Navy Exchange last week looking for a car seat for the truck when I decided to paw through the CD selection, looking for a CD for Kurt. Instead I found the music inspired by Young Guns II: Blaze of Glory by none other than Jon Bon Jovi.

After considerable trouble trying to get into the damn thing, I was rewarded by the sight of Mr Bon Jovi himself, in tight pants, long poufy hair, and a vest that shows off his extremely hairy chests.

I don't like hairy chests, except when they pertain to Jon Bon Jovi.

Then I opened the liner notes. On one side are the lyrics to the songs; on the other, a poster of Jon in all his poufy long-haired glory.

I nearly swooned.

Hey, leave me alone! My tastes were formed during the era of the hair band, so men in tight pants with poufy teased hair are hot to me! I can't help it!!! I was corrupted at a very young age!!

I don't much like how Jon Bon Jovi looks now; I always had a thing for guys with long hair. (Yeah, and then I marry a guy with NO hair!!) I don't care for how he sings, either. I get that he probably can't sustain those high notes anymore like he could when he was a young pup, but his old songs sung a few octaves lower just don't do anything for me. I can't listen to any of Bon Jovi's albums after "Keep the Faith"; Bon Jovi had their moment in the sun, and anything after "Keep the Faith" was just them trying to regain their youth. And you can't turn back time.

Speaking of famous people, I had the weirdest dream last night. I dreamt for some odd reason of Pam Anderson! Don't ask me why I was thinking about her; she's not exactly my type. All I remember now of the dream was hanging out with her in a restaurant or something, getting something to eat, convincing her that I wasn't just another groupie, and driving on and off a Navy base with her in a convertible. Weird stuff.

On that note, I'm off to plunder the internet.




previous * next