bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 April 2005

Let's get rocked!
Lesson for the day: No self-respecting straight man wears a very tight hot pink polo shirt on national television. If you were watching QVC yesterday, you know what I am talking about.

Tee hee.

My taste in music fluctuates rather oddly. Throughout most of college, I listened to classic rock (music older than I am, I know) from an excellent radio station out of Richmond, VA. Unfortunately, my senior year the station moved its tower, and I could no longer get reception in the dorms. I then switched to the classic rock station out of Norfolk, which was okay but not nearly as good as the Richmond station.

Every time I went home to my father's house on break, I'd have to switch between DC101 (because I could not ABIDE the self-absorbed djs on HFS) and a mix station, one of those "the best of the 80s, 90s, and today" type stations.

When I moved to Seattle, I started listening to the classic rock station here, KZOK. Fortunately, they have an awesome morning show as well, although I am never awake early enough to catch more than the last half hour of it. But it's nice to have something decent to listen to on the rare occasions where I have to go somewhere extremely early in the morning. Plus, KZOK has a Sunday morning show called "Breakfast with the Beatles." How much better could life get than two hours of nothing but Beatles music every Sunday morning?! Again, I am rarely up early enough to catch most of it, but this past Sunday I was able to catch "Dear Prudence" as I snoozed through my alarm. They really ought to play that song more often.

For a time, I was really into our local mix station here. It's where I would hear Maroon 5 and Los Lonely Boys. But then I started to realize that I'd hear the same ten songs in an hour with about 15 minutes of commercials.

Then I was into the 90s alternative rock station. When I first moved here, it was an 80s station, but then I guess about a year ago, it changed to 90s alternative rock. I loved it because it was all the music I'd listened to on DC101 in high school -- Oasis and Bush and Live, etc.

Now that 90s alternative rock station has changed to what they're calling Jack FM. It's new just this week, so new they don't even have djs. I was quite disappointed when I first realized my 90s alternative rock was gone forever, but now I am getting rather addicted to the new format. This station plays EVERYTHING, pretty much whatever I would put into an MP3 player if I had one and if I had unlimited funds to fill it. Currently they're playing "Rebel Yell" by Billy Idol. But they will also play disco and 80s music and rock and classic rock and just about anything that anyone has ever put out in the music world, with the exception of oldies and big band music. I am trying to get my fill before they start deciding what their particular niche is in the radio market in Seattle and narrow their playlist to one specific genre.

In other news: Do you remember the trials and tribulations of my refrigerator? It would work, and then it wouldn't, causing a huge leak on my floor. We got the repairman out twice; the first time he replaced a relay, the second time he told me to buy a new fridge because the compressor had gone out.

The fridge now works, and has managed to for at least six weeks. I don't know what has happened, whether it was afraid of ending up at the appliance recycling site or what, but I haven't had a problem with it in a long time. It's even holding a good freezer temperature. The only slight problem is if we have the freezer cold enough (just under 0 degrees Fahrenheit), then occasionally stuff in the fridge is too cold. Oh darn... my milk is so cold there are small ice crystals floating in it. :o)

Is there anything better than an ice cold glass of milk on a hot summer day?! I didn't think so.

Speaking of the weather, it has been quite lovely here of late. Highs in the high 60s, low 70s, sunny skies, few clouds. I am loving it, but at the same time I am dreading the summer. I've heard it's supposed to be a hot one this year, which doesn't bode well for Grace and me. Her room gets sun almost all day, but fortunately we have a light-blocking shade in her room that we can use to help keep the temperature down. The only problem is her room doesn't really get cool at night, not like the rest of the house. I will have to buy a window fan for her room to try to bring in as much cool night air as possible. I need to take the flannel sheets off my bed asap as well. I thought I was going to die last night from the heat in the bedroom, and it was only 70-some degrees in the room. Ick.

I don't know if I mentioned this earlier, but Grace is now on solid foods. The pediatrician told me that since no one in our family has allergies that I can give her any food I want to without having to worry about the "three-day introduction of a new food" rule. Grace loves just about everything we have given her. She especially loves my home-pureed sweet potatoes, but she will eat just about anything. She can't stand creamed spinach, however. I don't blame her; overcooked spinach is just nasty. It's quite yummy in salads or in quiche or something along those lines, but when it's presented as simply a mound of soggy green mess on your plate, it's gross. When I was giving her the jar of creamed spinach, she was actually gagging. That's how I know she doesn't like it. :o) Last night Kurt and I went out to dinner at a Japanese restaurant, and I gave her some rice to eat and/or play with. She doesn't have the motor skills to put it in her mouth to self-feed, but it was amusing to watch nonetheless.

I am so not a paranoid momma. :o)




previous * next