bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
08 April 2003

I will survive!!
Well, I'm still alive. I guess that means I'll survive this deployment. :o)

I won't pretend here; it ain't easy. I don't mind being alone during the day since there were days (few and far between) when Kurt had to work, but the nights are the worst. The first night I bust out crying, and then that was the end of the tears. I can feel them sometimes right under the surface, but tears won't make him come home any earlier, so they're rather pointless.

Now at night I try to stay up somewhat late until I know that as soon as I turn out the light, I'll go to sleep. That way I don't have to think and ponder or anything like that.

What's pretty cool is I haven't been scared the whole time Kurt's been gone so far. I was thinking I would be scared shitless of every little noise the first couple of days, but I'm recognizing things that are everyday, commonplace sounds -- like someone getting home late, or the cats tearing around the house, or the girl next door calling her cats in. Plus the front of her house looks into my backyard, so I feel that someone's always got their eye on my house and no one can sneak up on it. I know Koolit would sleep through it if anyone ever tried to break in. :o)

I have to admit the house feels kind of empty. There's just me, and as silly as it sounds, it's a palpable feeling. Just... empty. Now I'm glad I have a small house -- I don't know what I would do with two levels and a zillion rooms.

It's odd how the lady across the street, J., decided to "adopt" me, as it were. The other lady, T., told me that J. would do that because she has this strange affinity for this house. She's been great friends with all the people that have lived in this house over the years. She still talks to the older lady that lived here (and corrected me on all sorts of wrong info I had about her) and visits her in her new condo every so often, and she gets letters and things from the lady who lived here before that. That lady had two teenage boys, and a husband, in THIS house!! I couldn't believe it; it's just too small of a house for that many grown or nearly grown people. At first, I thought J. was a little standoffish because I only really saw her from a distance, where T. was inviting us over for dinner and things. But then J. came over while I was putting my name on the mailbox, and I gave her a tour of the house, and we've been great friends ever since. Today I spent most of the day with her, helping her to make birthday treats to take to her daughter's class at school, and decorate the butterfly cake she made for her daughter for after dinner tonight. I learned a lot of cool tricks that I shall have to remember for future cakes that I may make. :o) I thought J. would get tired of me after so much of me, but she didn't seem to want me to go home at 3pm! I'm glad she likes me, and T. too.

Kurt has made it safely to the Gulf. He's stuck in Bahrain to wait for his ship to come back into port, but that was last I heard. He could, for all I know, be on his ship already. He's ten hours ahead of me, so it's 10pm there now. Pretty freaky generally he's awake when I'm sleeping, and sleeping when I'm awake.

I just hope the next five months go by quickly.




previous * next