bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
16 March 2003

We're finally here!!
Hiya, hiya, hiya!!! I am finally in the great state of Washington, and yes, it's raining right now. People here keep telling me that it really doesn't rain here all that much, but it's rained almost solidly for a week. The good part about that is now the reservoirs for the area are now full enough to avert a water shortage this summer.

So we've been here since the 26th of February. It took us thirteen days to get here, but that's because we stopped off to see relatives along the way. I finally got to meet Kurt's cousin Elaine and we really hit it off. I think a lot of it had to do with the fact that her one-year-old daughter Hannah really liked me, and I kind of took her off Elaine's hands for the couple of days that we were there. We've been staying in a hotel for the past couple of weeks, which is getting somewhat pricey, but the good news is:

WE FOUND A HOUSE!

And it's way cool. It's a little smaller than I'd hoped for, only two bedrooms and one bath, but it's brand spanking new remodeled with all new appliances and cabinetry and windows and all that jazz. It's so pretty on the inside. Plus we have a fenced-in back yard, with a 100-foot evergreen that holds a treehouse, and a fenced-in sideyard with fruit trees! I've got raspberries and apple trees and a pear tree. Yum! We were VERY surprised at the price of houses here since we probably could have bought the same house in southern Virginia for about $30,000 less than what we're buying it for. But everything here is more expensive. Going to the grocery store is rather a shock here, but it also may be that they don't have a Super Walmart here either. They've got an old Walmart that closes at 10pm every night!! But it's got what I need, so I won't complain.

We're also going to be living about twenty miles from the base, which I like because I don't like being very close to all Navy people. It's nothing against Navy people; I just don't like being around all of any one kind of people. I like diversity. Our house is in a subdivision in the middle of nowhere, really, near one of the many bays in the area. And ownership of the house gets us membership into a beach and yacht club. Hehehe... me, a member of a yacht club. That just cracks me up. Also, I like the fact that we're so far from "the city" because it's a lot safer there, and a lot quieter. Most of the other houses we looked at, aside from being way too much work, were in not-so-great neighborhoods where I wasn't going to feel safe while my husband was out to sea for six months.

And leave he will -- he's to check in on the 24th of this month, which means he could leave the 25th and not be back until at least September. We'll find out when he checks in when he'll leave. I'll just have to keep myself busy.

We don't move in until later this week, and our stuff might not get to our new house until early next week, so I may not update again until next week. I'll be SO glad to have my computer back and not have to go to Kinko's to check my email!! :o)




previous * next