bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
12 January 2003

Rants
I am getting really excited about this move to Seattle.

I am going to go about this in a rather oblique way because I really don't want to hurt anyone's feelings, but those of you who are out there (who don't even read this anyhow, so I don't know why I care) who have treated me as though I don't exist and as though I was never your friend, you know who you are. I know you don't care about other people's feelings, for you stepped all over mine for too long. And it's partially my fault for not confronting you with it, and for letting you walk all over me. If it made you feel better, then I am sorry for you. For one cannot raise his self-esteem by destroying someone else's.

At any rate, I need to get away from this area. Here I am too close in both geography and time to where this all happened, and I want to get a new start.

I have a wonderful husband, a great life, and I have found my vocation (as temporary as it may be) in doing my cross-stitch and being a housewife. I know I have in my husband the partner that will be there for life, the man who builds me up and makes me realize that I am truly a good person. So I give thanks, each day, that Kurt is my husband, because I truly know how rare it is for someone to find her absolute soul mate.

And so my New Year's resolution will be this: to forget everyone who treated me so badly and try to remember my true friends. I will also try my damndest to repair my relationship with Liza and Joe, who were great friends to me but who I turned my backs on for the sake of those who I thought were my friends. Also, I will remember Angela as much as possible because it's only with her that I can let go and be as faux goth as I want to be, and the sexy goddess that I know I can be.

As I leave Virginia, I know I have true friends here, and it makes me sad that I am leaving them. But I have moved before and have kept friends throughout the years, no matter how long it's been since I've seen them, for a letter, an email, or a call from them always comes through.

Friendship is strong, as long as it's fed well.

**********

Anyhow...

Anyone else watching the NFL playoffs?!

WHAT?!!?! Fools, turn the tv back on!!!

Naw, just kidding, the games are over for the weekend. And the result?? My two favorite teams, Tennesee Titans and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (go Gruden!), are going to the AFC Championship and the NFC Championship respectively, and the Oakland Raiders will battle the Titans next week for the title of AFC champs.

This is a problem. Kurt's a diehard Raiders fan. Our house will be split next week, altough either way, I'm happy. One or the other will go to the SuperBowl, so I figure this way we're both winners!!!

The only problem is, what if Titans and the Bucs go to the SuperBowl?! This is why I kind of want the Raiders to win the AFC Championship; that way Kurt's estatic, and I don't have to root against one favorite team.

The only thing that's bugging me is the Titans game. The Steelers and the Titans had tied by the end of regulation, so they went to overtime. Football has a sudden death overtime; whoever scores first, wins. Simple as that.

Tennessee got the first possession. They were able to drive down the field and be in position for a field goal. It was only second down when they brought in the field goal team, and I was screaming at the tv to tell the coach not to kick a field goal: go for the touchdown, fools!

Kurt told me it's better that they go for the field goal on second down; that way, if they miss it, God forbid, they've got two more chances (third and fourth downs) to make it.

Nedney came up and kicked the ball. Only the ball was snapped after the referee blew the play dead, so even though he made it, it didn't count.

Still second down.

They go to re-kick. The ball went wide right, no good, and a Steeler ran into the Titans' kicker, drawing a foul. The Titans moved five yards closer and prepared to re-kick.

Anyone still with me? Still second down because of the foul.

So Nedney tried again. He made it. Three more points to Tennessee and they're going to the championships.

Which means? IT WAS STILL SECOND FREAKIN' DOWN!!!

Which means? If Nedney had missed the field goal, they still had two more chances to kick a good one!!

The Steeler's coach, Bill Cowher (I keep thinking his name sounds like "coward"... hmmm... sore loser?), mentioned in the post-game press conference that the game was decided because of the "bad call" when the Steeler ran into Nedney. Did no one tell him it was only (everyone together now) SECOND DOWN?!

Plus none of the media want to mention that the Titans would have had more chances, so it looks like the referees made another bad call at the end of a game (there was a bad one at the end of the NY Giants/San Francisco 49ers last week).

It's just frustrating to me because now it makes it look like the Titans only got in because of a bad play. They got in because they were able to drive past the Steelers defense in overtime. Simple as that.




previous * next