bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 October 2002

Let's Do the Time Warp Again
Two nights ago we were in Target because I wanted to get this specific brand of undies. I knew I shouldn't have gone in there because I'd end up buying lots of things, but since I have been paying cash for most of the things I have gotten lately I thought I could go on a minor binge and put something on the credit card.

My mother calls me the Target whore.

She's right, though. Although it was a little funny when she was talking to my stepdad on the phone while he was at his mother's, and she told him that I was going to Target. So he yells out for all to hear, "She's going WHORING, huh?!" I cracked up at that.

Anyhoo, we made the mistake of going into the computer games section and found.... dum dum DUM!!!! Roller Coaster Tycoon TWO! Kurt and I have played the bejesus out of Roller Coaster Tycoon 1 and its two expansion packs, so we thought the $30 for the next installment was a good investment.

So we get home and install the damn thing, which caused some minor problems, but we got it running and I played that first night.

But you see, it's really hard to start that game sometimes because it can be hard to accummulate money. And I'm one of those people that when I'm playing the Sims or SimCity or something along those lines, I like infinite resources of money. I'm greedy like that. So Kurt and I went looking for cheat codes.

The Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 website wasn't very helpful, but I did notice something quite interesting. In the very center of the page, in huge colorful graphics, the text read, "ROLLER COASTER TYCOON 2!! COMING OCTOBER 15!!!"

Kurt and I looked at one another, then down at my watch, which read October 8th. So either Target accidentally put out that game before it was supposed to, or we fell into a time warp.

I like to think it was a minor time warp. That would be cool. :o)

I finished another book yesterday. Lately I've been devouring them, although not quickly enough to not have to renew when I go back to the library. But this one was on my eBook. I broke down and ordered $20 worth of books, which came to four different books.

The one I just finished was called "The Evidence Against Her," and I had bought it because the info in the eBook catalog made it seem really interesting. How wrong they were.

Now I don't profess to be any kind of writer because I know if I did write a book, it would end up like the one I just finished. Nothing but exposition and no development. There was a beginning, and a really drawn out middle, but there was no end to the damn thing!! It was just the end of the page!! There was very little plot development, just a bunch of events and much explaining of why those events occurred, all strung together.

I did finish it, though. I can't remember when the last time I didn't finish a book -- I always have that hope that it will get better. This one just didn't fulfill that hope.

So once I finished it, I took refuge in Anne McCaffrey's "The Skies of Pern." At least I KNOW that will be a fantastic read. All the Pern books are! :o)




previous * next