bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
25 September 2001

George goes to europe
Michelle and I have successfully made it through the first day sans John.

I believe I am still sane.

Michelle didn't fall apart on me, which made me quite glad and joyous, but things just weren't the same. I couldn't get a smile out of her no matter how hard I tried.

She's also stressed out because she's in the middle of going back to school for ANOTHER BS/MS, this time in nursing, and she's on the rescue squad but certain things are going to expire quite soon, so she's got to worry about school and rescue squad and now this with John leaving.

And that's not the worst of it.

Friday afternoon at 4:30pm George, our big-time boss, informed Michelle that he was going to Europe. Well, we knew this part. What we didn't know was his time of departure -- Monday. As in yesterday. As in, he gave us no time to prepare for it.

When asked why he didn't tell us, he informed Michelle that he was trying not to cause John to feel obligated to stay on until George gets back on 8 Oct.

Ahem. George takes into consideration John's feelings, John who is leaving, and screws over both Michelle and me. Because with George gone, even with Tesfa there, it is pretty much just Michelle and me in the lab.

*sigh*

To top things all off, Michelle had asked for the 4-5 of October off to go visit her fiance's family in Florida, so those two days it will be just ME in the lab. I know they aren't going to hire another chemist by then. They'll just see that Michelle and I are "managing" and also that they can't hire another chemist with George gone.

*double sigh*

This all boils down to quite a stressed Karyl, especially with Michelle being so downcast.

And don't ask me about the wedding. The one thing I am grateful for, however, is the wonderful givingness of my mother, since she is worrying about all of the decorations for my reception. Thank God for mothers. :o) I think she's also making my cake too.

We'd hoped that Kurt's mother could come out for the wedding, but that's looking less and less likely. It's really too bad -- I think my mother and Kurt's mother would get along great, I really do. Plus I just like Kurt's mother.

Imagine that -- a bride excited about her mother-in-law.

Damn, I'm blessed!

PS -- Liad, it's Lee Greenwood that sings "God Bless the USA," just in case you cared. And a local metal band has redone it and is being played all over the airwaves here. But it's a cool version nonetheless. :o)




previous * next