bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-07-21

Busy busy days
These past couple of days have been so busy that I have just managed to catch my breath!! Last week I just sat around and enjoyed not having to do anything... this week I've been running around like the proverbial headless chicken.

I guess it all started on Wednesday. I'd gone in that morning to donate platelets at the Red Cross, and it took at least an hour more than projected because the lady who was taking care of me was a trainee. Almost as soon as I walked in the door, Kurt noticed Koolit, our dog, limping, and when he went to examine the leg, Koolit started to scream in agony. Apparently it's something to do with the disks in his back, poor baby, but he's made a spectacular recovery. We have medicine we're supposed to give him, but it upsets his stomach -- which meant Kurt got to steam clean the carpets today. Lucky man. :o) But since the meds are to reduce the inflammation in the disks of his back and to kill the pain which is caused by the same inflammation, we don't really have to give him the meds when he's not in pain. If he's not in pain, then he's not inflamed, and therefore doesn't need the meds.

The silver lining in all of this is we found a vet that we really like. We'd had major issues with the previous vet and the assistants that worked at that clinic. Now we go a bit out of the way, but our pets get treated really well by the staff, and we know the staff knows what they're talking about.

Then on Thursday, I went to PT with Kurt at 12:30pm, and we left straight from work to meet our new friend in Virginia Beach. Because we'd given blood on Friday (with all the holes they've made in my arm to take out blood, I'm starting to look like a junkie!), we'd gotten free tickets to the Big Day Off Fest at the amphitheatre. Disturbed was well worth the trip out to Virginia Beach -- they put on a spectacular show, at least from what we could see from the lawn. :o) I got a $10 t-shirt with the names of all the bands in the fest on the back, but there was another shirt I wanted very much for the same price. It may be better I ended up with the one I did -- it's a lot less gory. :o) I was also pleased that I didn't get one whiff of marijuana until the concert was about two hours in. I don't mind if folks want to fry their brain cells by smoking weed; I just can't stand the smell of it. So we moved to another location -- the benefit of lawn seats. :o) We stayed out of the mosh pit and refrained from engaging in the Woodstock-like activities of sliding down the hill in the mud or flinging mud at other people, but I did get hit by a flying plastic beer cup. Luckily it was empty.

It was also Kurt's and my 1 1/2 year anniversary. And we are still madly in love. :o)

We ended up going over to our friend's house after until almost 1:30am, and Kurt had to be at work at 7am Friday morning. So he was hurting the next day, but he came back to bed when he got home. We went to his command's picnic for a couple of hours -- and DAMN, did they have good food!! They ran out of fried chicken temporarily, and a friend of ours fought off the mob to get us seconds once they came out of the fryer. :o) But they also had cole slaw, pork bbq, potato salad, hot dogs, hamburgers, ice cream popsicle sticks.... We ate enough to last us a week!!!

Then it was off to run errands, home again long enough to change, and then off to the Spirit of Norfolk cruise that Kurt got us for our anniversary. That was a ton of fun! I had a bit of trepidation beforehand because a couple of summers ago, Intel had held a training on the Spirit of the Potomac, and things weren't run very well at all. And I wasn't impressed by the food. But the Spirit of Norfolk had GREAT food, wonderful drinks, and a gorgeous view of the sunset. I had a great time -- and even managed to get Kurt on the dance floor to something other than slow music!! He felt like a dork, but realized that everyone else looked like dorks too, so he wasn't standing out. :o)

So now this weekend we just feel like vegetating and doing NOTHING. I think I need a rest!!! :o)




previous * next