bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-02-26

School worries
So Kurt sent me the link to the University of Arizona today, since that's where he wants to go to school if he makes it into the program where he gets paid to go to university. He wants to do something with computers, like computer engineering, or even electrical engineering since he's had so much experience with that in his present job in the Navy.

And the cool thing about the University of Arizona, aside from being in Tucson where his folks live, is that they have a library sciences program. This means that Kurt and I can go to school simultaneously, he for his bachelor's and I for my master's. And we can still be together.

Of course, that presupposes a LOT. Like his even getting into the program (but I seriously don't think he'll have a problem with that; I have faith in him), the Navy accepting his choice to go to Arizona, his getting into that college... things like that.

Not to mention my getting in. And I got a little worried when I looked at the entrance requirements for the school of library sciences. They want a minimum 3.0 gpa. Now don't get me wrong -- I'm smart enough, but I just can't manage to get my gpa above a 3.0. Right now it hovers at a 2.7, and with only a semester left to go I have a feeling it's going to stay there, barring any failures, which isn't going to happen. The reason it's that low is because my freshman year I took the wrong class, failed that miserably, and then totally reamed myself by not going to biology and getting a D. Drop my first year and my gpa's just about a 3.0...

My suitemate reassured me to some degree. She told me that since I go to a good school, they'll look at that and cut me some slack, and that also if I work for a few years in a library I'll have that experience going for me. And I'm guessing if I do well on the GRE's they'll focus more on that. So I'm hoping and praying....

But I guess we'll have to cross that bridge when we come to it....

**********

I was bad this morning. Last night I told Kurt I was ready to go (did you notice the Discovery Channel was showing the freaks of humanity yesterday?? Not freaks in a bad way, but just stuff like the little people, and siamese twins, and intersexed people... It was a strange night for TV programming...), and we headed out the door a few moments later. We got almost to the bridge just a few miles down the road when Kurt asked me, "What time do you need to be back in class tomorrow?" I told him 11am for my exam, and he just looked at me. "Why am I taking you back tonight then?!"

Hee hee. So I spent another night at Kurt's... It was weird getting up so early with the sun coming into the apartment so strongly -- generally we get up around 11am when the sun's moved a bit higher. He made me breakfast as I was getting ready, and we got up here with plenty of time to spare.

Kurt rearranged the bedroom yesterday... so now the bed's not in the corner like it was. I told him it should be with just the head against one wall so that he and I can get out of bed without disturbing the other. So he did that and moved all the other furniture around also. Now we have a grown-up's room! That's what it looks like, less like a bachelor's pad and more like a home. It made me feel all grown up... :o)




previous * next