bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-01-18

Bye bye Jason
So Jason Newsted has left Metallica. He's referred to as "the new guy" even though he's been with the band for fourteen years. But from what I caught on the radio, he just needed to leave because of the hardship it put on him physically and mentally. It seems to be an amicable split from what I read of the newsrelease, which is always good news. But the local radio station is playing ALL METALLICA for the lunch hour, and while I love Metallica, I don't see how one member leaving should cause all this hullabaloo -- it's like they're holding a wake for Jason. He's not dead, guys, he just wants to move on. Good for him.

Onto other subjects...

I can't help it. I just can't. Most of the time I'm an optimist. I like to be chipper and happy and positively minded. But there's one of my friends I chat with occasionally on AIM that always has bad news. Every time she IMs me, I somewhat dread talking to her because I don't want to get pulled into a sad mood by her depressing news. I want to be there for her, and supportive of her, but I just don't like getting dragged down all the time. And nothing I seem to say helps at all; we just go round and round about whatever sad subject she has fixated on for the day. Maybe it's just because all of our conversations are conducted over AIM; we don't live close enough to see one another anymore. Maybe as she grows older and she realizes what a wonderful life she is living, even with the problems she has, she will become a happier person. I can hope...

For some reason, I've been labeling all my notes today as 19 January. I shouldn't be using the wrong date -- my watch tells me the date. But I keep looking at the 18 and thinking it says 19. Oddity... that's me!

I had to get up at 6:30am this morning to go to breakfast before my first class. I used to NEVER go to breakfast; I'm not big on eggs and bagels and bacon and all that breakfasty stuff. Plus I like my sleep... I am a VERY good sleeper. But last semester, my suitemate and roommate and I would eat before classes, and I found that it works better for my body to eat in the morning and to skip lunch. But it's been a LONG time since I've had to get up that early in the morning, when it was still dark outside. It was eerie! I think I'll like my schedule this semester -- I have class all morning and I work all afternoon. Keeps me out of trouble... :o)

So we bid a fond farewell to Jason Newsted and wish him all the best in his life ahead. I'm sure Metallica will find another bassist to mend the hole left in the band, although another member could never replace Jason's place in their hearts. Just the nature of friendship.




previous * next