bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-11-16

All things British
Call me wacky and/or weird. But I love all things British. I really wish that the two times I flew out of London we could have left the airport and wandered around. One of the women out of our group managed to do it since she had friends there, but the rest of us had to stay with all the luggage. For eight hours. Ick. I think most of us caught up on sleep.

So I've never been to the UK -- not really. Just sitting for eight hours in Gatwick, and I don't think that counts. At all. Especially since my friends and I went looking for an exit from the terminal and couldn't find one. We were thinking it was some sort of Mobius strip -- you just keep going round and round. Or maybe it was just the terminal for folks with connecting flights... I don't know.

My folk dance professor is British. She has the coolest accent and the neatest way of speaking. She told my roommate this morning that she is "doing ever so well" in the class. I love constructions like that in speaking... And she kept telling us to dance "with vigor!" Only she said it with such a cool accent...

Americans can have cool accents, I suppose. I get amused by the Boston/New England accent; the way my mother's boyfriend says some words is just too cool. And the southern accent is my favourite, an accent I can approximate to some degree. I was told when I moved to Illinois that I had a really thick southern accent. I doubt that -- I lived in northern Virginia before that, and no one in northern Virginia has a southern accent. It's too... northern. But I think it was because I said "y'all" a lot. A very useful word. Sometimes Kurt comes out with his Long Island accent, which amuses me highly since he hasn't lived there in fifteen years or more.

That's another place I would love to go. New York City. I have never been there -- just seen it from the New Jersey turnpike. I love seeing it in the movies or on a tv show, and I would love to work there. And live there. Yes, I know it's expensive. But I am fascinated by all things in NYC. Kurt keeps telling me we're going... we just have to find the money and the time... maybe after the new year. I want to at least go there. We'll see later where I end up. :o)




previous * next