bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-09-18

Olympic children
Last night we decided to watch the Olympics. My favourite sport, of course, is gymnastics, men's and women's, and I lucked out in that the US was competing in women's gymnastics last night.

Or should I say, girls' gymnastics??

Is it me, or are the female athletes getting younger and younger?? Once a girl hits nineteen or twenty, she "retires" from the sport. And it's not too often that a female gymnast makes it to two Olympics in a row. So these girls, ranging between 14 and 18 it seems to me this year, are considered women. While I still struggle to have my parents admit that I am a woman, at the ripe old age of 21. More on that later.

But I still love to watch those girls fly around the gym on the uneven bars and the floor exercises and the vault and the balance beam. Four inches wide -- the meager width of the balance beam. I think my feet are four inches wide (I have super wide feet).

And my heart stands still as the US girls launch into the air and I pray that they stick the landing. When they lose their balance for a split second and have to hop, my heart sinks -- I know that deduction is going to spell bad news for the US.

We weren't doing well last night. We were second in the standings after we competed, last I heard, which is pretty good, but the gymnastics powerhouses like Russia had yet to compete. Bela Karoly looked extremely unhappy. It's not going to be a repeat of the golden girls from Atlanta... Not this year, folks.

But we got to see Tom Dolan bring home the gold and break his own world record in the individual medley men's 400m, and his teammate (who was the most adorable guy and whose name escapes me at present) bring home the silver. The US women also pulled in one-two in women's 400m freestyle for the gold and silver. Extremely exciting events.

Then women's water polo came on. I wonder whoever came up with that idea for a sport. My roommate prepared me for it, saying it's an amusing sport to watch, but I was a little taken aback. It's all about stamina, though. I can't imagine treading water for seven minutes straight (the length of a water polo quarter) as goalie. Stina's teasing me this morning about being crushed because Canada was whupping up on the US last night when I got too tired to watch any more, but I just found out that we won that game against Canada and beat Russia to boot. WOO HOO!! :o)

*******

I have found myself unable to resist the urge to nap during the day these past few weeks. I have two two-hour breaks between classes on MWF, but one of those breaks is when I work. I usually spend the other break sleeping because I am just so damned tired. It doesn't make any sense, though. With the exception of last night, I go to bed around midnight and get up at 7:30am or 8:00am, depending on what day it is. Eight hours of sleep; it should be enough, yes? *sigh* Apparently not.

I was thinking this morning, in Artificial Intelligence (god, that class is boring), that when I was in high school I thought getting up at 8am on a weekday was sleeping in! I had to be in class at 7:30am, and I routinely got up at 5:45am to leave by 6:45am. I couldn't do that now... TOO EARLY!! :o) I know I will next year... when I get my "REAL" job. Blah.

*******

I talked to Dad again last night, and told him that I need an answer as to whether he'll let me go to Arizona for Christmas by October so Kurt can buy the plane tickets. He told me he's not going to say yes and he's not going to say no, but he told me that apparently it's over Christmas break that I'm to lock in my job for after college. I don't know if he's right or not, but I do know that no graduate that I've heard of has had a job before Christmas break. Or afterward, for that matter. Most folks I know of get their jobs during the spring semester, if not after college. Maybe I'll just kick my parents in the teeth and go to London for six months to work... there is a program here at school for that. *sigh* Of course, I couldn't kick 'em in the teeth. That's rather ungrateful, no? I think Dad's just trying to get me not to go to Arizona.

And he's worried that Kurt and I have a serious relationship!! Geez, it's not like I'm going to marry the guy as soon as I have my diploma in hand!! First off, aside from my own feelings on the matter, Kurt isn't into getting married to begin with. That's fine with me -- I don't mind living in sin with him till he gets sick of me. *wink* OK, that was a joke.

It's hard to explain how we feel about each other, about how well we go together. Like peanut butter and jelly. Or, as in my stepmother's household, like peanut butter and honey. Have you ever had that?? YUM!! Anyhow, life is just so much better with him in my life. My life was good before. Now it's really good. :o) He's a wonderful man.

*******

I got interrupted in the middle of this entry... My best friend needed a favour, so I accommodated him. I'm very accommodating. :o) But now class is canceled since my prof is sick, so I'm home EARLY! YAY!!! Life is gooood. ;o)

Now I just have to catch up on homework... blecch.




previous * next