bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
19 March 2007

Why not a true wide
Haloscan's been on the fritz lately. What I've found is that if you click on the Comments link and it doesn't come up immediately, it generally works if you shut down the window and try again. Sometimes the third time's the charm. *wink*

Grace's ID bracelet came today!! Isn't it cute??

Grace's new medical bracelet!

The band is made up of interlocking stainless steel hearts. What's cool about it is the band is totally replaceable. Once she grows out of this band, I can replace just the band, or buy more bands for dressy occasions. I went with the hearts band because it's actually the most durable. This one can go into water, while all the beaded bands might deteriorate over time if they come in contact with water.

The other side of her tag warns of her nut & peanut allergy and to use the Epi-Pen if necessary. It shouldn't come to that, but I am glad to have a bracelet now. I hope moms will ask me why she's got a bracelet, which will make it easier for me to keep peanuts away from her.

That's the plan, anyhow.

Poor Kurt is still stuck in Florida. It's good in a way since he can still call me when he gets some free time. But he's still there because his engine broke.

A broken engine is never a good thing on a ship.

Of course, it's his equipment too, so he can't just sit around with his thumb up his butt waiting for it to get fixed, like most of the sailors on the ship. He's part of the department that has to bust its butt to get the engine fixed. He told me that he didn't go to bed for the night until 9am this morning.

Poor guy.

Y'all know I like to shop, although most of the time, window shopping works just fine for me. This is why I actually like to watch one of the home shopping channels. I prefer QVC over any other, partly because I find it to be the least cheesy of all the shopping channels.

I got all excited when I found that they were going to have a shoe as the "special of the day" for today. At 9pm (some days it's awesome to live on the West Coast), I tuned in to QVC to see what the shoe was going to be.

The shoe is a wedge sandal that is extremely cute. They were also bragging about how this shoe came in not only a medium width, but a wide width as well. As soon as I saw which brand it was, I immediately dismissed it.

See, these shoes are made by Naturalizer. Naturalizer, for some reason, believes that women who are a wide width are all a C width (B is normal for women). C isn't wide; it's just medium-wide. And for someone who needs a double wide (I wear a EE, although I can handle a D), a C just isn't going to cut it.

I don't know why they bother to even include a wide width in their product line if it's going to be that narrow.

Last night during the presentation, the host was gushing about the availability in the wide width, and the presenter was careful to explain that the wides were only one-sixteenth of an inch wider than the medium width shoe.

One-sixteenth of an inch????

That's nothing, seriously. Why bother with a wide, then?? It's not even worth it, really. I need an extra full inch over a medium width, not one-sixteenth.

Sheesh.

Thank God I have such small feet. I think I'll just stick with kids' shoes, thank you very much.




previous * next