bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
13 July 2006

In which I freeze my patootie off
Mother Nature has decided to play a mean trick on me.

Before Kurt went out to sea in May, I asked him to get my box of summer clothes out of the garage because it's one heavy box. The box then sat in my bedroom for well over a month because it wasn't warm enough to warrant getting out my shorts, etc. I mentioned that I had finally gotten around to putting out my summer clothes and packing away my winter clothes because it seemed like July was a good month for warmer weather.

Oh boy, was I wrong!

It's been in the low 60s the last week or so, with overcast skies and even some rain. It never rains here in July. Usually it's fairly warm by now, around 75� or so, definitely warm enough for short-sleeved shirts and possibly shorts. Low 60s is just frigid for mid-July.

I remember writing a letter to my brother in May saying that it was over 60� and quite warm for Seattle, but now I'm just cold! It shouldn't be this cold in July! I'm freezing!! I almost wish I had my long-sleeved shirts still.

That said, I shouldn't complain. Probably in August it'll be stinkin' hot, and I'll bemoan my lack of air conditioning.

I'll tell you what, though... I'll gladly take a cool summer like this one over the summer I was pregnant. We had something like 40 straight days of 80�+ heat, which is extremely unusual for this area. The only shoes that would fit me that summer were my Birkenstocks let out to the very last hole, and even those left bad marks on my feet because they were so swollen. There was just no escape from the heat; a lot of businesses around here don't have a/c. The mall does, though, so I spent a LOT of time at the mall.

Where is that global warming when you need it? *wink*

Update on my cross-stitch projectIn case you were keeping track, I am steadily working on my Charles Wysocki cross-stitch project. As you can see, I'm about two-thirds of the way done with the stitching; then I'll have to go back and add the details. I am really enjoying this project because it's going so quickly. There are really large blocks of color, so I'm really accomplishing a lot for the time I put into it. I've done some projects where I feel like I've been working on a tiny section for days and I'm not getting anywhere. That's frustrating. I'm already thinking through my other kits I have on hand, trying to decide what I should do next. I have this really cool kitty pattern I may try my hand at. I'll have to get this current project professionally framed since it's sort of an odd size. I'm excited to hang it somewhere in my house; I don't normally keep my own projects! Most everything I do is a gift for someone else. Sometimes it's nice to hang onto them.




previous * next