bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
31 December 2005

Bra woes
Happy New Year's, everyone!! I will most likely be on Pogo most of the evening, since Kurt has duty, so if you know my Pogo screenname, come on over and say hi!

I really never understood the whole "party hearty" attitude for New Year's, but that may be because I'm not much of a party animal anyhow. My favorite New Year's to date was December 31, 2003, when my neighbors came over for munchies and board games. Mass quantities of beer and wine were consumed, Trivial Pursuit rules were played fast and hard with, and stuffed mushrooms ended up stuffing the guests. But since my guests had as far as crossing the street to go home afterward, I had no fears of any harm coming to them after they helped me consume the mass quantities of beer and wine.

And I didn't wake up with a hangover the next day either!!!

So tonight will be quiet, which isn't a bad thing. I do enjoy being by myself, and being a Navy wife, I am used to Kurt having duty on important days. I can't complain; he is most likely not going out to sea again till next December.

Yesterday I went shopping at the Tacoma Mall, where the latest mall shooting occurred about a month ago. Don't worry -- I wasn't shot, though. :o) Anyhow, my friend HC's husband had given her a bunch of money for Christmas to purchase herself a new wardrobe, so we went and spent mass quantities of money and had a BLAST.

Our first stop was Nordstrom's, which in case you didn't know is an upscale department store. Don't worry -- I had my pinky out the whole time I was there. :o)

She needed new bras and really wanted to get professionally fitted. Since we don't have a Nordstrom's near our home (not affluent enough), I took advantage of being there to get fitted myself, since most department stores that do advertise free bra fittings don't give their clerks any training on it and so they're totally clueless. In other words, don't bother getting fitted at Mervyn's.

The Nordstrom's clerk, which was extremely knowledgeable in everything bra-related, measured me out to a 36F. Yes, I said F. In some bras, that's a DDD.

F. As in f-ing ginormous.

I'm in shock.

The 36F's that she picked out for me actually weren't tight enough in the band, so I walked out of there with two French bras (apparently the best money can buy) in a 34F. The nice thing is the band no longer rides up in the back, which is what I'm used to, and the girls are sitting high and pretty where they ought to be. This is very important to me, as my girls have never sat high and pretty without being forcibly manhandled into doing so.

Plus the bonus of having the proper fitting bra is I don't have a backache.

The bad thing about being a 34F or even a 36F is that can be a difficult size to find. Most of the time when you get into a large cup size, like an F, the band sizes are correspondingly large since most women with narrow chests don't have such ginormous breasts. This means that shopping anywhere but Nordstrom's and possibly Macy's is out. I do have a site online for bras in hard-to-find sizes, but I'd rather be able to find a bra in a store so I can try it on before I buy it. What will fit me in one bra may not be large enough or small enough in another bra.

Ahhhh the trials and tribulations of being a woman!!!!

Have a wonderful new year!!!




previous * next